University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

EndNote Basic: Format

Using Endnote Basic, a free resource, to manage your citations

Creating a Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography

  1. Under the Format tab, click Bibliography.
  2. Under the References drop-down list, select the folder containing the citations for your bibliography.
  3. Under the Bibliographic style drop-down list, specify the citation style. Choose the citation style from the Select Favorites drop-down list and copy citation style  desired into My Favorites list.
  4. Under the File format drop-down list, select RTF (rich text file) to save or print your bibliography.

Adding Bibliographic Styles to Favorites

To generate notes and bibliographies from your groups, you need to load required bibliographical styles into your favorites.

  1. Under Format tab, click Bibliography.
  2. Click on Select Favorites link.
  3. Choose the citation style you want from the left column, click on it.
  4. Then click on Copy to favorites.
  5. That style will then be available to you when you want to generate a bibliography:

Exporting References

EndNote Basic provides an export feature allowing you to export your references in one of several standard export styles to e-mail, save or print for alternative use.

Exporting References:

  1. From the Format tab, click the Export link.
  2. Select the references to export, such as the quick list or a group, from the References drop-down list.
  3. Select the Export style from the Export Style drop-down list.
  4. Click the Save, E-mail, or Preview & Print buttons.



To create a quick list:

  1. Click the check box to the left of a record. Check the Check Page checkbox to check all references on a page or Check All to check all references in a group or list view.
  2. Click the Copy To Quick List button.
  3. Repeat steps 1-2 if you are selecting references from different pages and groups until your Quick List is complete. A warning message will display in your browser if you have exceeded your export data limit.

Creating Bibliographies Tutorial