University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

HWST 602 - Hawaiian Archival Research: Home

Hours

Circulation & Paging
Sunday                  1:00 P.M.-4:45 P.M.
Monday-Friday     9:00 A.M.-4:45 P.M.
Saturdays            CLOSED
Holidays              CLOSED

 

Reference
Sunday                 1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M.
Monday-Friday    9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.
Saturdays            CLOSED
Holidays              CLOSED

The reading room may have different hours for Summer and school breaks. Please consult the online calendar for changes

 

Welina Mai!

Aloha and welcome!

The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections are internationally recognized research collections. All formats, languages and levels of treatment are collected Many of the items in the collection are unique and irreplaceable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Located on the fifth floor of Hamilton Library, the reading room is a quiet, pleasant area conducive to serious research and study.

  • Wireless internet, a flatbed scanner, and photocopy machines are available.
  • Most materials (except rare, fragile, or tightly bound) may be photocopied in accordance with copyright laws.
  • The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections have their own reference and circulation service, as well as their own hours.

Friendly Reminders

  • No bags, purses, computer and tablet cases
  • Lockers take quarters, can borrow one from circulation counter.
  • No food or drinks, including water bottles
  • Silence ringers please -- no phone calls in reading room

Archives and Gov Docs - What's the Difference?

Defining the term "archives"

"Archives" refers to the working and operational files of an institution. For example, Privacy council minutes would be the kinds of files that end up in an archive.

The term "archive" also refers to the repository which holds these files. So, archives are held in an archive. And, an archive might also hold other types of materials, such as manuscript collections, collections of personal papers, and regular library books too.

Defining the term "government documents"

Government documents are the publications of a government. They are prepared edited documents meant for public dissemination. For example, annual and individual reports of government agencies are considered to be publications

Hawai'i Specialist Librarian

Kapena Shim's picture
Kapena Shim
Contact:
Hawaiian Collection, Hamilton Library

Fifth Floor, Office 508
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu. HI 96822
808-956-9296
kapena@hawaii.edu
Subjects:Hawaii