About the Music Collection
Aloha, and welcome to the Music Collection at the University of Hawai`i.
The Music Collection at UH is the largest music collection in the state of Hawai`i and is administered by the state's only full-time music librarian, Gregg S. Geary (firstname.lastname@example.org). The main collection is located on the third floor of Sinclair Library. Printed music (scores), books on music, and music periodicals (including microfilm of some titles) are located in the central area of the floor while sound recordings, videos, and computer software are found in the Wong Audiovisual Center located at the Diamond Head end of the building. Below is a floorplan of the third floor which will help orient you to the materials located there.
One of the functions of the collection is to support the teaching and research efforts of students and faculty from the UH Music Department. Because of this primary function, the collection is particularly strong in holdings of materials two main areas of specialization, western fine-art music spanning from the Middle Ages to the present and, ethnomusicological materials. The collection is diverse and offers a wealth of material in the areas of music education, theory, esthetics, popular music, jazz, guitar repertoire, musical comedy, etc. But one should remember that the two primary areas of study, western art music and ethnomusicology, are emphasized.
The print collections are located in the middle of the third floor. As you face the north (the area with all the windows) the call numbers move from right to left (a bit different than some other collections at UHM). The first section is marked Music Reference Collection. Here are located a host of reference materials on music including, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, discographies, guides, bibliographies, directories, etc.Moving down the floor to the west (Ewa) the next collection is the music folio collection. These are the oversized items and their call numbers begin with "f" or "ff" depending on their size. After the folios comes the printed music which are classified as M. These are scores of all types for every conceivable instrument or vocal combination. Next comes the ML section that includes all the books and journals on music. The ML series, or Music Literature section, begins with serials (journals) and moves into the monographs on music. At the end of the ML section comes the MT or Music Theory section that covers music theory, music education, and music pedegogy.In the MT section you will also find some music scores. These are etudes and other instructional music materials. The Chopin etudes are found in this section.
Returning to the middle of the third floor is a large study area with computers that will connect to the Internet and the Voyager catalog. These terminals are also connected to the GoPrint station, so you can print out information you may locate online. You will need to have a valid user name and password to access these computers and a copy card is requred to pay for the printouts.
A metal shelf in the center of this space contains CURRENT MUSIC PERIODICALS. Back issues are located in the ML section behind you. A wooden book shelf near the windows contains major reference works such as the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Music Index, and RILM Abstracts.These reference works are also found online via our Electronic Resources Gateway page.
The Wong Audio Visual Center is located at the east (Diamond Head) end of the Library. It contains a vast array of Compact Discs, LPs (Phonodiscs) DVD, Videos, film strips, cassettes, etc. The Center contains all the playback equipment for every form of software we house. The contents of the Audio Visual Center and the Muisic Collection is cataloged in the UHM Voyager Catalog and accessible from any computer with Internet access anywhere in the world.
Search the Library Catalog for Books, DVDs, CDs & Scores
Finding Library Materials
When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has access to that journal, search for the journal name.