South Asia: 19th Century and Earlier ImprintsSouth Asia: 19th Century and Earlier Imprints (Full Text)Gandhi PhotosPhotographs from India Post-IndependenceAsia at Work
AfghanistanBangladeshBhutanIndiaNepalPakistanSri Lanka
Asian Studies 202South Asian Cinema
This is the "Asia Collection" page of the "South Asia Collection Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

South Asia Collection Resources   Tags: asia, bangladesh, evols, india, nepal, pakistan, south asia, south_asia, sri lanka  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/southasia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Asia Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Asia Reading Room Hours

Asia Collection Logo

Reading Room Hours:

Mon-Thur:   8am - 10pm
Friday:       8am - 6pm
Saturday:   9am - 5pm
Sunday:     12pm - 10pm

Asia Reference Hours:

Mon-Fri: 10am - 4pm

Asia Reference Phone Number:

(808) 956 - 8116

Hamilton Library Building Hours

(Be sure to check the building hours website for detailed information concerning holidays, summer hours and breaks.)

 

Introduction

          The Asia Collection

The Asia Collection in Hamilton Library at the University of Hawai'i - Manoa is the most significant collection of Asian materials in the State of Hawaii and in the Pacific. It dates from 1920, when the Board of Regents established the Japanese Department at the University of Hawaii. In 1930, the Oriental Institute was established to focus on the study of China, India and Japan. In 1962, the newly established East-West Center absorbed, with the University's agreement, the vernacular materials of the Oriental Library, and expanded the scope to include Korea and all countries in South and Southeast Asia. In 1970, the Asia Collection was transferred to the University of Hawaii as a unique collection.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Monica Ghosh
Contact Info
2550 The Mall -- Room 406
Honolulu, HI 96822
808-956-2309
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip