Re-Discovering a Forgotten Treasure: the Georg von Békésy Collection of Art Books: Art Books

Re-Discovering the Collection

In 2007 Patricia Polansky (Russia Bibliographer) and Theodore Kwok (Humanities Librarian) started a project to re-identify the art books Georg von Békésy donated to the library. The only remaining evidence of the donation were the gift plates within the books. The Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences Department staff searched through 6,000 art books in the library's Closed Shelves section and identified over 1,300 volumes of his original donation. The phrase "Dr. Georg von Békésy Art Collection" was added to the holdings records in the library's catalog for each of the titles.

The Art Books

Goerg von Békésy willed his collection of art objects and books to the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm. They gladly accepted the art objects, but were pleased when the University of Hawai'i expressed interest in the books.

The art objects in Stockholm are located in three different venues: some are with Nobel Foundation, 96 items are in the Mediterranean Museum [Medelhavsmuseet] and 208 items are held by the East Asian Museum [Ostasiatiska museet]. For this exhibit we are only able to display photographs of some of the objects. UH President Fujio Matsuda traveled in December of 1974 to Stockholm to attend the Nobel Prize awards ceremony. He also was invited to participate in the exhibition of the von Békésy art collection.

The von Békésy books cover the Ancient Near East, Classical Byzantine, Iran and the Islamic World, India, Cambodia and Thailand, East Asia (China, Korea, Japan), Europe, Africa, and the Americas. In addition there was a collection of science books. Another group of materials were issues of journals. In many cases Hamilton Library subscribed to many of them, and von Békésy's issues were added.

We do not have an exact idea of the number of books added. Ann Takahashi, then head of the Library's Gifts and Exchange Section found these statistics in 1975 for the unprocessed von Békésy materials:

• monographic art volumes: 1,361
• gift items in storage: 3,017
• unprocessed gift items: 4,756
  [this last figure may be total gifts -- not just von Békésy]

We think there were between 3,000 to 4,000 items added to Hamilton Library. One letter von Békésy sent to UH said he had shipped 5,000 books. One of the issues that held the von Békésy materials in storage was the desire by the UH Administration to keep the materials together as a special collection. However, the Library has always maintained a policy of not wanting to create any separate named collections. The solution in the end was an agreement to place all the materials in Closed Shelves with the designation "Von Bek" in the call number. In May of 1977 Mrs. Matsuda, the UH President's wife, volunteered to help with the processing.

As the library moved into the computer era and acquired various library management systems, "Von Bek" was lost from the call numbers and we could no longer identify this collection. As part of the work on this exhibit we have identified over 1,300 titles which now carry the note "Dr. Georg von Békésy Art Collection" on each record.

Finding von Békésy's Art Books in the Catalog

To search for von Békésy's books in the library catalog:

• Go to the UHM library catalog.
• Select Advanced Search.
• Type "bekesy" in the search field, and select "Holdings (HKEY)" from the Search in pulldown field.
• To limit your search to a topic within the von Békésy collection, add additional search terms in the other search fields.

Georg von Békésy's Art Books on Display

[arranged by call number]

Copenhagen (Denmark). Nationalmusset.
Oriental and classical antiquity : Egypt, western Asia, Greece and Rome. 
Copenhagen, 1950.
Guides to the National Museum
107 p. : plates ; 22 cm.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: AM101 .C7774

Ashmolean Museum. Dept. of Antiquities.
A summary guide to the collections : University of Oxford, Ashmolean Museum, Dept. of Antiquities. 
Oxford : The Museum, 1951.
86 p. : 74 leaves of plates, ill.
Pref. signed: D.B. Harden. Errata slip inserted
Subject: Archaeological museums and collections -- Catalogs
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: AM101 .O95 1951

Dinkler, Erika.
Der Elisabethschrein in Marburg / mit einem Geleitwort von Erika Dinkler.
Wiesbaden : Insel-Verlag, 1953.
Insel-Bücherei ; Nr. 565
69 p. : ill.
Subject: Christian art and symbolism -- Germany -- Marburg
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: BX4700.E4 D5

Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.)
Miniatures : your own museum of art in miniature.
New York : Distributor: Book-of-the-Month-Club, 1948-
Album. Each vol. includes a perforated, gummed sheet of col. illus. to be inserted
Subject: Art -- New York (State) -- New York
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: N610 .A675

Brummer, Joseph.
The notable art collection: belonging to the estate of the late Joseph Brummer ...
New York : Parke-Bernet galleries, 1949.
3 v. : ill.
Sale: pt.I, April 20-23; pt.2, May 11-14; pt.3, June 8-9. Priced in part. Vol.3 title varies slightly. "Catalogue 1059, 1069, 1079.
Subject: Art -- Private collections
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: N5220.B78 P3 Pt. 1 and pt. 3 on display

The Georg von Békésy Collection : selected objects from the Collection of Georg von Békésy bequeathed to the Nobel Foundation / ed. by Jan Wirgin ; text by Ulf Abel ... [et al.].
Malmö: Allhem, 1974.
204 p. : ill. ; 20 x 23 cm.
"Publications by Georg von Békésy": p. 26.
Includes bibliographical references.
Subject: Von Békésy, Georg, 1899-1972 -- Art collections
Art -- Catalogs
Location: Hamilton
Call number: N5280.H82 V68

Poulík, Josef.
Prehistoric art : including some recent cave-culture discoveries and subsequent developments up to Roman times / photographs and graphic arrangement by W. and B. Forman ; text by Josef Poulík ; translated by R. Finlayson Samsour.
London : Spring Books, 1956?
47 p. : front., 189 ill. (part. col., part fold.)
Subject: Art, Primitive
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: N5310 .P87

Pijoán y Sotoras, José.
Arte islamico / José Pijoán. 1. ed.
Madrid : Espasa-Calpe, 1949.
His Summa artis : historia general del arte ; v. 12
628 p., 24 leaves of plates : ill. (some col.)
Includes index
Subject: Art, Islamic
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: N6260 .P48

Ardenne de Tizac, H. d' (Henri), 1877-1932.
Animals in Chinese art : a collection of examples / selected & described by H. d'Ardenne de Tizac ; with a preface by Roger Fry.
London : Benn Brothers, 1923.
2 p. l., 6 p., 1 l., L pl. (part col.)
"This edition is limited to 250 numbered copies on hand-made paper, of which this is no. 87." Plates accompanied by leaves with descriptive letterpress
Subject: Animals in art
Art, Chinese
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: N7340 .A7

Toesca, Pietro, 1877-1962.
Les mosaïques de la Chapelle palatine de Palerme. Texte de Pietro Toesca. [Planches exécutées par Annibale Belli]
Milano, Edizioni d'arte Sidera [1955]
32 p. 53 col. plates. 37 cm.
Subject: Mosaics -- Italy -- Palermo
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: NA5621.P3 T64

Molesworth, H. D. (Hender Delves), 1907-
Sculpture in England : mediæval.
London ; New York : Published for the British Council by
Longmans, Green, [1951]
18 p., 56 plates ; 28 cm.
"Corrigenda" slip inserted
Subject: Sculpture -- England
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NB463 .M63

Fagg, William Buller.
Bildwerke aus Nigeria / William Fagg ; aufnahmen von Herbert List ; aus dem Englischen übertragen von Wendula Killmayer.
München : Prestel-Verlag, c1963.
190 p. : ill., map.
Translation of Nigerian images
Subject: Sculpture � Nigeria
Sculpture, Primitive
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NB1097.N5 F215

Lem, F. H.
Sudanese sculpture.
[Paris] Arts et métiers graphiques [1949]
110 p. 64 illus., map. 27 cm.
Subject: Sculpture, Primitive
Sculpture -- Mali
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NB1097.S8 L414

Segy, Ladislas.
The Ashanti Akua'ba statues as archetype, and the Egyptian Ankh : a theory of morphological assumptions.
Fribourg, Switzerland : Impr. St.-Paul, 1963.
p. 839-867 : ill.
Offprint of Anthropos, v.58, 1963
Subject: Sculpture, Ashanti
Amulets
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NB1099.G5 S44

Moore, Henry, 1898-1986.
Heads, figures and ideas / Henry Moore ; with a comment by Geoffrey Grigson.
Greenwich, CT : New York Graphic Society, 1958.
66 p. : chiefly ill. (some col.) ; cm.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: NC1115.M57 G7

Mathew, Gervase, 1905-1976.
Byzantine painting.
New York : Pitman Pub. Corp., 1950.
Pitman gallery of oriental art
24 p. : 10 mounted col. ill.
Subject: Painting, Byzantine
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: ND142 .M3

Gauguin, Paul, 1848-1903.
Noa-Noa, voyage à Tahiti.
[Stockholm, Jan f?rlag, 1947]
3 p. l., 204 p. col. illus.
Facsimile of a manuscript copy
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND553.G27 A28

Gauguin, Paul, 1848-1903.
Watercolors and pastels / selection, introduction, and commentaries by Jean Leymarie.
New York : Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 1962.
16 p., 24 col. plates.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: ND553.G27 L49

Dürer, Albrecht, 1471-1528.
Dürer, l'oeuvre du maître : tableaux, gravures sur cuivre, gravures sur bois.
Paris : Librairie Hachette, 1908.
Nouvelle collection des classiques de l'art
xxix, 416 p. : (chiefly ill.)
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND588.D9 A3 1908

Mostra di Leonardo da Vinci (1939 : Milan, Italy)
Leonardo da Vinci : edizione curata dalla Mostra di Leonardo da Vinci in Milano.
Novara : Istituto geografico De Agostini, 1939.
516 p. : ill. (part col.)
"Il volume è stato curato da Sandro Piantanida e Costantino Baroni per incarico del comitato esecutivo della Mostra di Leonardo da Vinci." "Trascrizione del 'Codice sul volo degli uccelli'": p. 349-361
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: ND623.L5 M5 1939

Macke, August, 1887-1914.
Tunisian watercolors and drawings / with writings by August Macke and others ; translated from the German by Norbert Guterman.
New York : H.N. Abrams, 1959.
55 p. : ill., col. plates.
The plates, inserted in individual framing mats, are removalbe; 2 additional framing mats in pocket. Includes Diary of trip to Tunisia, by Paul Klee (p. 25-55) Translation of Die Tunisreise;
Aquarelle und Zeichnungen
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND1954.M28 B713

Marc, Franz, 1880-1916.
Botschaften an den Prinzen Jussuff : Mit einem Geleitwort / von Maria Marc und einem Essay von Georg Schmidt "Uber das Poetische in der Kunst Franz Marcs".
München : R. Piper, c1954.
Piper-Bücherei
54 p. : col. plates.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND1954.M3 S6

Poeschel, Erwin, b. 1884.
Die romanischen Deckengemälde von Zillis; mit 8 farbigen Tafeln und 178 Abbildungen.
Erlenbach-Zürich : E. Rentsch, 1941.
95 p. : ill. (plans), 64 pl. (part col.) on 86 l. ; 27 cm.
Subject: Mural painting and decoration
Decoration and ornament -- Switzerland -- Zillis
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND2793.Z5 P6

Dimand, Maurice Sven.
Persian miniature paintings.
Milan : Uffici Press, 195-?
Gallery of art series
26 p. : 12 col. mounted ill.
Subject: Miniature painting, Iranian
Illumination of books and manuscripts -- Iran
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND3241 .D55 1950

Qazwini, Zakariya ibn Muhammad, 1208 or 9-1283 or 4.
Le livre des merveilles du monde / introd. de Henri Massé.
Paris : Les Editions du Chêne, 1944.
16 p., 1 col. mounted ill., 20 col. mounted plates.
In portfolio
Subject: Illumination of books and manuscripts -- Iran
Illumination of books and manuscripts
Painting -- Iran
Geography, Arab
Cosmography
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: ND3241 .Q3

Indische Miniaturen aus dem Besitz der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin / mit einer Einführung von Ernst Kühnel.
Berlin : Gebr. Mann, 1949.
1 v. (unpag.) : 19 col. pl.
Subject: Miniature painting -- Reproduction
Miniature painting -- India
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND3247 .I5 1949

Reiff, Robert.
Indian miniatures : the Rajput painters. 1st ed.
Tokyo ; Rutland, VT : C.E. Tuttle Co., 1959.
Art treasures of Asia
32 p. : plates (part col.) ; 30 cm.
Subject: Miniature painting -- India
Miniature painting -- Facsimiles
Painting, Indic
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: ND3247 .R4

Kennedy and Company, New York.
Engravings by Dürer and his forerunners : the Master of St. Sebastian, the Master E. S., the Master of St. Wolfgang, Martin Schongauer, Israhel van
Meckenem, Matthäus Zasinger, Augustin Hirschvogel : from a private collection (with additions from our own portfolios), [catalogue for an exhibition], March 1929.
New York : Kennedy, [1929?]
[24] p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Subject: Engraving -- Exhibitions
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE42.N5 K4

Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.)
Modern painters and sculptors as illustrators / by Monroe Wheeler. "Third edition revised, 1946."
New York : The Museum of modern art, distributed by
Simon and Schuster, 1947.
119, 1 p. : incl. ill., plates. col. front. ; 26 cm.
Plates: p. 25-96. Based on the catalog of the exhibition held at the Museum of modern art from April 7 to September 2, 1936. cf. p. 97. Includes bibliographical references
(p. 113-120)
Subject: Illustration of books -- Exhibitions
Illustrators
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE45.N6 N4 1947

Braque, Georges, 1882-1963.
Georges Braque: his graphic work. Introd. by Werner Hofmann.
New York, H. N. Abrams [1961]
xxxiii, 86 p. (chiefly plates (part col.) ports.) 33 cm.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE650.B58 H6

Das Hausbuch : Bilder aus dem deutschen Mittelalter von einem unbekannten Meister / hrsg. von Richard Graul.
Leipzig : Insel-Verlag, 19--?
Insel-Bücherei ; Nr. 452
19 p. : 16 l. of plates.
Subject: Engraving, German
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE651 .H38

Malraux, André, 1901-1976.
Saturne : essai sur Goya. 1. éd.
Paris : NRF, 1950.
La Galerie de la Pléiade
177 p. : ill. (part mounted col.)
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE702.G7 M3

Meissner, Kurt, 1885-
Japanese woodblock prints in miniature; the genre of surimono.
Rutland, Vt., C. E. Tuttle Co. [1970]
143 p. 33 col. plates. 22 x 24 cm.
Subject: Wood-engraving, Japanese
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE1310 .M35

Haviland, Ch.
Estampes japonaises peintures des écoles classiques et de quelques maitres de l'Ukiyoyé : dont la vente par suite de décès en vertu d'un jugement du tribunal civil de limoges, aura lieu a Paris, Hotel Drouot.
Paris : Imp. G. Petit, 1922-23.
2 v. : ill.
Title varies slightly. At head of title: Collection Ch. Haviland
Subject: Color prints, Japanese -- Exhibitions
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE1315 .H37

Chagall, Marc, 1887-1985.
Arabische Nächte : 26 Lithographien zu 1001 Nacht / Einführung von Kurt Moldovan.
München : R. Piper, [1958, c1956]
Piper-Bücherei ; 101
47 p. : ill. (part col.)
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NE2415.C46 M56

Rybakov, Boris Aleksandrovich, 1908-
Treasure in the Kremlin / introduced and edited by B.A. Rybakov ; photos. by Karel Neubert.
London : P. Nevill, c1962.
127 p. : (chiefly col. ill.)
Subject: Art objects -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow
Weapons -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK480.M6 R9

Gosudarstvennaia Oruzheinaia palata Moskovskogo Kremliia / [avtor-sostavitel? G.A. Boguslavskii].
Moskva : Gos. izd-vo izobrazitel'nogo iskusstva, 1958.
1 v. (chiefly plates) ; 34 cm.
Text and annotations in Russian, English, French, and German
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK480.M7 A5

Bayerische Landegewerbeanstalt.
Die kunsthistorischen Sammlungen der Bayerischen Landesgewerbeanstalt Nürnberg / Im Auftrage der Direktion bearb. von Georg Ritter.
Nürnberg : Selbstverlag der Bayerischen Landesgewerbeanstalt, 1928.
80 p. : ill.
Cover title: Die Sammlung der Bayer. Landesgewerbe-Anstalt Nürnberg
Subject: Art objects
Art objects -- Germany
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK480.N84 B38

Mueller, Herbert, b. 1885.
The Sunglin collection of Chinese art and archaeology, 
Peking : catalogue of exhibition, New York, May, nineteen thirty / with an introductory chapter on "Archaeology in China" and further contributions by Dr. Herbert Mueller (Peking) and 157 illustrations on 51 plates besides fifteen in the text.
New York, NY : Herbert J. Devine galleries, c1930.
2 p. l., 7-107, 1 p. : incl. ill., plates.
"The Sunglin collection was established in Peking in 1924 by Dr. Herbert Mueller whose Chinese name is Mi Sung-lin" -- Pref. Preface signed: Herbert J. Devine
Subject: Art objects, Chinese
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK520.N4 M8

Ostasiatiska museet.
The Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities (Ostasiatiska Samlingarna) : selected objects.
Stockholm : The Museum, 1954.
12 p., 32 p. of plates : ill.
Subject: Ostasiatiska museet -- Catalogs
Art objects, Chinese
China -- Antiquities
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK1068 .O46

Taralon, Jean.
Treasures of the churches of France / [by] Jean Taralon with the assistance of Roseline Maitre Devallon [translated from the French by Mira Intrator]
New York : G. Braziller, 1966
304 p. : illus (part col.) ; 32 cm.
Translation of Les trésors des églises de France
Subject: Christian art and symbolism -- Exhibitions
Church decoration and ornament -- France -- Exhibitions
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK2190 .T313

Shahn, Ben, 1898-1969.
Love and joy about letters.
New York, Grossman Publishers, 1963.
79 p. illus. (part col.) facsims. 26 x 35 cm.
About letters and lettering
Subject: Lettering
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: NK3600 .S528

Cahiers de la céramique et des arts du feu.
Sèvres (Seine-et-Oise), Société des amis du Musée national de céramique.
15 v. ill., plates (part col.) 32 cm.
Subject: Pottery -- Periodicals
Porcelain -- Periodicals
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK3700 .C33

Koyama, Fujio, 1900-
Two thousand years of oriental ceramics / [by] Fujio Koyama and John Figgess.
New York : Abrams, [1961]
379 p. : 160 illus. (part mounted col.) ; 34 cm.
Translation of: Toyo kotoji (romanized form)
Subject: Pottery, Asian
Porcelain, Asian
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK4143 .K613

Ducret, Siefried.
German porcelain and faience; translated by Diana Imber. 1st American ed.
New York : Universe Books, 1962.
The universe library of antique art
466 p. : ill. 180 plates (part col.)
Translation of Deutsches Porzellan und deutsche Fayence, mit Wien, Zü rick und Nyon
Subject: Porcelain, German
Pottery, German
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK4499 .D793 1962

Vydra, Josef, 1884-
Folk painting on glass / translated by Helen Watney; photos by Alexandr Paul.
Prague : Artia, 1957 or 8.
57 p. : ill., 153 plates (part col.) ; 31 cm.
Subject: Glass painting and staining -- Czechoslovakia
Folk art -- Czechoslovakia
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK5348.A2 V88

Stettler, Michael.
Old stained glass in Switzerland / Michael Stettler ; English adaptation by D.Q. Stephenson.
Zurich : Swiss National Tourist Office, 1953.
48 p. : col. ill.
Subject: Glass painting and staining -- Switzerland
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK5364.A2 S813

Ohly, Dieter.
Griechische Gemmen / aufgenommen von Eva Maria Czakó ; zusammengestellt und beschrieben von Dieter Ohly.
Wiesbaden : Insel-Verlag, 195-?
Insel-Bücherei ; Nr. 612
1 v. (unpaged), 27 plates ; 19 cm.
Subject: Gems -- Greece
Gems, Ancient
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK5565 .O55

Lengyel, Lancelot.
L'art gaulois dans les médailles.
Montrouge-Seine : Editions Corvina, 1954.
Collection: Maitres et oeuvres
59 p., 48 plates (incl. map)
Issued in portfolio
Subject: Medals -- Gaul
Art -- Gaul
Art, Celtic
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves Folio-Library Use Only
Call number: NK6349 .L4

Pfister, R.
Les toiles imprimées de Fostat et l'Hindoustan.
Paris : Les Editions d'art et d'histoire, 1938.
2 p. l., 7-106 p., 1 l. : col. front., ill., 38 pl. (2 col.) ; 29 x 30 cm.
Subject: Textile fabrics -- Egypt -- Old Cairo
Textile fabrics -- India
Textile fabrics, Islamic
Textile printing
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: NK8888 .P3

Non-Art Books

Homer.
The Iliad. Translated with an introd. by Richmond Lattimore. Drawings by Leonard Baskin.
[Chicago] University of Chicago Press [1962]
526 p. plates. 29 cm.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: PA4025.A2 L35 1962

The book of beasts, being a translation from a Latin bestiary of the twelfth century.
New York, Putnam [1954]
296 p. illus. 23 cm.
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: PA8275.B4 E5 1954

Caecilius Folius.
Nova avris internae delineation.
Venetiis: Apud Ioannem Antonium Iulianum, 1645.
8 p. : ill.
Subject: Ear -- Anatomy
Notes: At head of title: Caecilii Folii equvitis. "Copia fotografica del primo opuscolo di anatomia illustrate dell'orecchio interno... Dono della Clinica Otologica dell'Universita di Padova." English translation, typescript of 3 leaves, laid in.
Location: UH Manoa: Hamilton Special Rare-Library Use Only
Call number: QM 507 .C34

Von Békésy, Georg, 1899-1972.
Sensory inhibition
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1967
X, 265 p., illus. 23 cm.
The Herbert Sidney Langfeld memorial lectures, 1965
Subject: Senses and sesation
Inhibition
Location: Hamilton
Call number: QP431 .V58

Van Bergeijk, Willem André Maria, 1929-
Waves and the ear [by] Willem A. van Bergeijk, John R. Pierce, and Edward E. David, Jr. [1st ed.]
Garden City, N.Y., Anchor Books, 1960.
Science study series, S9
235 p. illus. 19 cm.
Subject: Hearing
Location: Hamilton
Call number: QP461 .V3

Von Békésy, Georg, 1899-1972.
Experiments in hearing. Translated and edited by E.G. Wever.
New York, McGraw-Hill, 1960.
McGraw-Hill series in psychology
745 p. illus. 24 cm.
Includes bibliography.
Subject: Hearing -- Experiments
Audiometry
Location: Hamilton
Call number: QP461 .V64

Goldschmidt, E. Ph. (Ernst Philip)
Gothic & Renaissance bookbindings ; exemplified and illustrated from the author's collection.
London : E. Benn ; Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 1928.
2 v. : ill., plates (part col.)
Subject: Bookbinding
Rare books
Incunabula -- Bibliography
Location: Hamilton Closed Shelves-Library Use Only
Call number: Z269 .G62 1928

Krogh, August, 1874-1949
The anatomy and physiology of capillaries.
New York: Hafner Publishing Co., 1959
xli, 422 p., illus.
Location: PBRC Library