University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

Japan Studies Collection: Home

The guide provides resources to assist your research on Japan.

Welcome

This Library Guide has been developed to support your research on Japan at the UHM Library. Sources with "UHM Only" notation means that you need to log in the UHM Library system with your valid UHM username and password to use the sources. Hope you will find the information of a wide range of resources on Japan helpful.

Quick Links

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
 
One Search Manoa 
one search

Japan/Okinawan Studies LibGuides

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
 

 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies


UHM Center for Japan Studies

Library Guides (LibGuides) to Japanese & Okinawan research

Introduction to Okinawan Studies
Provides resources to start research on Ryukyu/Okinawa

DVD title index of the Uchinanchu Worldwide TV series
See each episode title of the 206 Uchinanchu Worldwide TV programs

Japan Studies E-Resources
List of e-resources relevant to Japan studies and useful hints for successful ILL/DD

News

  • New Acquisitions List for July 2015 is up now.
  • Events at the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library
  • Streaming Video Database trial through August 31.  http://micro189.lib3.hawaii.edu/ezproxy/details.php?dbId=58233 

    Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 28,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers with many new releases launched daily. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films, and many more.

FAQs

Where is your collection located?
The general materials are integrated into the East (Japanese language) and Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors. Hamilton Library's floor plans are available here.
Please use the Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog to identify the resources you need.

I heard about your special collections. What are they? How can I access?
The Japan Collection holds the following special collections housed in the Asia Special Collections room. All the items are not circulating. The Japan Collection staff retrieves materials prior to your visit. Please read the access policy to make an appointment in advance.

  • Hawaii Karate Museum Collection 布哇空手博物館コレクション
    Over 200 materials on Karate and martial arts collected by the Hawaii Karate Museum
  • John Roberts Clippings
    Clippings on a wide range of political and economic topics concerning Japan developed by a journalist
  • Kaizawa Kabuki Manuscripts
    English translations of famous Kabuki plays during the Allied Occupation period. As part of the US censorship on Japanese publishing and perfoming arts, all the Kakubi play manuscripts were translated into English for the censorship. Mr. Stanley Kaizawa, a Japanese American Nisei from Hawaii was a team member of the censorhip and translated from Japanese to English. All the manuscripts were digitaized.
  • Kajiyama Collection 梶山文庫
    Over 7,000 materials collected by the late novelist Toshiyuki Kajiyama 梶山季之
  • Sakamaki/Hawley Collection サカマキ・宝玲コレクション
    Over 2,000 items on Ryukyu and Okinawa collected by Shunzo Sakamaki and Frank Hawley
  • Satsuma Collection 薩摩コレクション
    Nealy 800 photo copies and late Professor of Kagoshima University, Haraguchi Torao's  原口虎雄 (1914-1986) manuscrips of primary source materials on Satsuma/Shimazu domain. Prof. Haragushi's collections so called "Dokosanbo (童虎山房)" were donated to the Amami Museum in 2006.
  • Takazawa Collection 高沢文庫
    Over 50,000 books and archival materials on Japan's social movement collection by Koji Takazawa
  • Uchima Family Lineage Document 内間家系図(毛姓家譜)
    18th century official family lineage document sealed by the Kindom of the Ryukyus.

When are you open?
General collection is open during the Library hours. http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/about/hours.html  Special collections are open by appointment.

Japan Studies Guide

Tokiko Y Bazzell バゼル山本登紀子
Contact:
Asia Collection Department, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library. Room 403
Email: tokiko [at] hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2315
Skype Contact
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Japan, Okinawa

Asia Collection

asia home

Asia Collection
Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00
Closed Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
(All library hours)

Email Reference

asiaref@hawaii.edu
Telephone Reference (Asia-related questions only)

956-8116 Monday - Friday 10:00am-4:00pm

 

 

 

Library Home  |  Research Tools  |  Personal Services  |  About the Library  |  Terms of Use  |  UH Manoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us