University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

China Studies: Find Articles

Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, etc.

Find Articles

In addition to traditional print sources, indexes and full-text databases are commonly used to search for journal articles, in which often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible. Sometimes, however, an article citation is the only information you get. In case like this, you need to locate the specific journal and issue first in order to get the article. Please follow "Find a journal" below to check whether or not the library has the title you need.

Want to know what journal titles the China Collection currently receive? Selected title lists have been created for your reference.

Selected Chinese Periodical List | Selected English Periodical List

Want to know what online periodical resources on Chinese studies? Please see the UHM only database list below and some useful free periodical databases on lower-left of the page.

Find a Journal

When having a citation to an article, you need to determine if the library has this specific journal and the specific issue you're looking foryou can search with the following search tools:

OneSearchMonoa Advanced Search mode

Choose Journal Titles (the second one in the drop down list) in "Material type."

UH Catalog (Voyager)

It contains all print journal titles and some e-journals the library subscribes to. 

Suggest selecting Journal Title begins with in the "Search by" list for more relevant results.

A-Z Electronic Journals 

UH Manoa Library gateway to e-journal titles. Searches can be further limited by subject area and vendor.

-----------

Once you locate the journal title, you need to see if the library has the specific issue by reading the holdings information carefully. 

If the UH Manoa Library does not have the title or the issue you are looking for, please consider requesting the article via our 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service 

Free Periodical Databases

China

Taiwan

Hong Kong

Indexes and Full-text Periodical Databases for Chinese Studies (UHM users only)

Resources listed below are restricted to UHM faculty, students, and staff only;  Asterisk symbols are used to differentiate Chinese full-text databases from others.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases, such as WorldCat.

*China Academic Journals (use simplified Chinese for searching)

China Academic Journals (CAJ) is a full-text databases covering appromixately 7,000 journal titles published in the People's Republic of China. CAJ is searchable in simplified Chinese. It provides over 8 million full-text and full-image periodical articles dealing with the humanities and social sciences published from 1915 to date. The database is update daily.

Subscription includes 5 series:

  • Literature/History/Philosophy: 1915-
  • Politics/Military Affairs/Law: 1915-
  • Economy & Management: 1915 -
  • Education/Social Sciences: 1915-
  • Medicine/Hygiene: 2000-
  • Century Journals Project, 1950-1993

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T), formerly ProQuest Digital Dissertations database, includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.

JSTOR 

The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI and Complement collections. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. The JSTOR project's primary goal is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

*Late Qing Dynasty Full-text Database (1833~1911) and Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) 晚清民国全文期刊库(1833-1949)

Based on Shanghai Library's rich collection of the modern periodical resources, these databases cover around 10,000,000 pieces of articles in nearly 20,000 titles of periodicals published between 1833 and 1949 in China.

NOTE: Only one user allowed at a time. If you cannot login, please try again later. 

*People's Daily: 1946-present  人民日报 (1946- )

This database brings you the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China.

Project Muse

Project Muse provides access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832-1953

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Scripta Sinica Database (Han ji dian zi wen xian zi liao ku)

Compilation of more than 500 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history, including "Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty" (Ming shi lu) and "Veritable Records of the Qing Dynasty" (Qing shi lu). The database is developed by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China. NOTE: UHM users should login from the right box.

Zhong yang ri bao [中央日报] = Central Daily News

Contains issues of Central Daily News in traditional Chinese from February 1,1928 (its launching date) to April 23, 1949.