University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

Kinesiology & Rehabilitation Science (KRS): Home

Basic Search Techniques

Each database interface looks a little different. But they usually have some common features and there are similar search techniques you can use:

  • Enclose phrases in quotation marks: "social informatics"
  • Use * (or sometimes ! or ?) to truncate words: hawaii* searches for hawaii, hawaiian, hawaiians
  • Re-sort search results if needed: by Relevance, or Most Recent First.
  • Note Export, E-Mail or Print features, and Previous Search buttons. 

Featured Databases for KRS

Read this first.  Use the suggested article databases to search for journal articles by subject. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

See More Databases for KRS to search for articles in related disciplines.

Library Research in KRS

Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for your research in kinesiology & rehabilitation science (KRS). The guide focuses on online resources, but also includes selected print titles. This guide highlights the main resources; it does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for KRS research. For additional resources, visit other relevant library guides, search the library's online catalog, or consult with Susan Johnson, UHM Social Sciences Librarian.

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has access to that journal, search for the journal name. Start with:

Related Guides

Library Home  |  Research Tools  |  Personal Services  |  About the Library  |  Terms of Use  |  UH Manoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us