Okinawan Studies: Peace Learning

Databases

• The Cabinet OfficeOkinawa Development and Promotion Bureau, the Battle of Okinawa Materials Room / 内閣府、沖縄戦関係資料閲覧室  (JPN version)
  • Material Retrieval / 所蔵資料検索  （Including documents, books, or videos and DVDs）
  • Testimony / 証言集 (in Japanese in PDF)

Online Resources

• The Peace Learning Archive in Okinawa / 沖縄平和学習アーカイブ  (ENG and JPN versions)
  
             
   
  • The Peace Learning Archive in OKINAWA lets its users read 102 testimonials by survivors of the Battle of Okinawa, and to view 182 photographs and archived maps. Several digital archives are multi-layered on the Google Earth map to facilitate multilateral and comprehensive understanding of the Battle.
  • 「沖縄平和学習アーカイブ」では，沖縄戦争体験者の証言102人と，182点の沖縄戦写真並びに資料地図を閲覧することができます。 複数のデジタルアーカイブをGoogle Earth上の地図にデジタル重層し，沖縄戦に関する多面的で総合的な理解が出来ます
  • It is provided by the Peace and Gender Equality Promotion Division, Department of Environmental and Community Affairs, Okinawa Prefectural Government.
• NHK沖縄放送局、「沖縄戦70年: 語り継ぐ未来へ」
  • https://www.nhk.or.jp/archives/shogenarchives/okinawa/
• NHK Online 沖縄放送局
  • 戦争証言アーカイブス、「沖縄の戦争体験]
    •  https://www.nhk.or.jp/archives/shogenarchives/
• NHK 戦争証言アーカイブス
  • 「地図から検索」> 沖縄
    • https://www.nhk.or.jp/archives/shogenarchives/search/map/#/main/area3
• 沖縄県豊見城市教育委員会文化課
  • 「語り継ぐ受け継ぐ豊見城の戦争記憶」(Tomigusuku Education Board's YouTube Channel)
• 沖縄県公文書館 > 資料検索 > 映像 /  Okinawa Prefectural Archives > Resources > videos
  • 2​32 short videos recorded by the US Military are available for both mobile and desktop computer (as of April 29, 2019).
    • https://www.archives.pref.okinawa.jp/video
• DocsTeach's Online Primary Sources on WWII: https://www.docsteach.org/topics/wwii (Last accessed March 1, 2021)

Printed Books

• Soshi Okinawa-sen : shashin kiroku / 総史沖縄戦 : 写真記録  (JPN version)

• Yugun to gama : Okinawasen no kioku / 友軍とガマ : 沖縄戦の記憶  (JPN version)

• Okinawa hachijuyokka no tatakai / 沖縄・八十四日の戦い  (JPN version) 

• Okinawa 1945 : the last battle (ENG version) 

E-Books

• それってどうなの？沖縄の基地の話。(JPN only)
  Fact finding booklet about the US Military basese in Okinawa. You can download free directly from the site.

• Okinawa: the Last Battle  (ENG version)
  This book was published by the US Center of Military History, U.S. Army in 2000. 

• 沖縄市民平和の日9/7 （JPN version)
  The site was created by Okinawa City Office Entente and Gender Equality Section.

• A Guide to Battle Sites and Military Bases in Okinawa City  (ENG version in PDF)
  This book was published by Okinawa City Office Entente and Gender Equality Section.

Journals/Magazines

• The Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus [=亜細亜太平洋月刊誌] [https://apjjf.org/]
• Nakamoto, Kazuhiko [仲本和彦]、「沖縄戦に関する新資料の紹介: 援護業務関係文書を中心に」、『沖縄公文書館紀要』第18号（2016年3月号）、1-13頁。(in Japanese & PDF)
• Kubura, Nagiko. (March 2011). "Okinawa-sen shōgen kirokuno kōkai ni tsuite: ōraru hisutorī katsuyō no kokoromi" in Okinawa-ken Kōbunshokan Kenkyū Kiyō, V. 13. / 久部良和子、「沖縄戦証言記録の公開について：オーラルヒストリー活用の試み」、『沖縄県公文書館研究紀要』、第13号。(in Japanese & PDF).

• Hiroshima Archive / ヒロシマアーカイブ  (ENG and JPN versions)
  Provided by the Hiroshima Archive Production Committee

• Nagasaki Archive / ナガサキアーカイブ  (ENG and JPN versions)
  Provided by the Nagasaki Archive Production Committee.

• Okinawa Prefectural Peace Memorial Museum / 沖縄県平和記念資料館  (ENG and JPN versions)
  • The video testimony of the Battle of Okinawa survivors in multi-languages (including, Chinese, Korean, Dutch, Indonesian, etc.)

• Himeyuri Peace Museum / ひめゆり平和記念資料館  (ENG and JPN versions)
  During the battle of Okinawa, two girls' schools, 222 students and 18 teachers were mobilized to the Okinawa Army Field Hospital in Haebaru Town.  As a result, 136 of them lost their lives.  After the war, the group of students and teachers who were mobilized from the two girls' schools came to be called the "Himeyuri Student Corps."  On June 23, 1983, the Himeyuri Peace Museum was established by the Himeyuri alumnae.
• "Connecting & Forwarding Our Hope (Umui) for Peace" (video; Japanese with English subtitles)
  • Created by Initiatives by the Okinawa Prefectural Government (Feb 15, 2021)

Central Intelligence Agency, A master narratives approach to understanding base politics in Okinawa. January 5, 2012. (PDF)

Reading Room:

Open

Contact Us:

Reference Hours: M-F: 10am - 2pm

Email: asiaref@hawaii.edu 

Phone: (808) 956-8116

Ask Us: 

https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/help/ask-us/