Okinawan Studies: Finding Journal Articles

• Okinawa Historical Materials Database / 沖縄歴史文献データベース  (JPN version)
• Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Database /  皓星社雑誌記事索引集成データベース (UHM Only)  (JPN versions)
  This database consists of indexes of magazines and periodicals published from the Meiji Era to the Present.
• Web-Oya Bunko database 大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引検索ウェブ版 (UHM Only) (JPN version)
  A citation index for the Ōya Sōichi Bunko popular magazine collections. It covers from Meiji period to the present. Currently the database contains over 4.5 million magazine articles, many of which are not indexed by other Japanese databases. 明治～現在まで

• CiNii : Citation Information by NII / CiNii 論文情報ナビゲータ  (ENG and JPN versions)

This is an online Japanese scholarly journal index.  It includes NDL Zasshi kiji sakuin search.  Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyō (大学紀要） are available in PDF.   Users are able to search holding institutions. 

• NDL Japanese Periodicals Index / 雑誌記事索引 (JPN version)

This is an online journal indexes covered from 1948 to present and is developed by the National Diet Library.

Databases Including Full-Text Japanese Magazines/Journal Articles

• Asahi Shinbun Kikuzo II: 朝日新聞聞蔵II (UHM Only) (JPN version)
  In addition to full-texts of the Asahi Newspaper from 1879 to present, includes Aera アエラ (weekly magazine), Shūkan Asahi 週刊朝日 from 1984 to present. Also, it includes Chiezō 知恵蔵 current issue.

• CiNii : Citation Information by NII / NII 論文情報ナビゲータ  (ENG and JPN versions)
  Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi kiji sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku kiyō (大学紀要） are available in PDF.  This will allow users  to identify holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.

• JAIRO / ジャイロ  (ENG and JPN versions)
  Japanese Institutional Repositories Online. It enables you to search all the institutional repositories sites in Japan. A lot of scholarly articles.

• JapanKnowledge+  / ジャパンナレッジプラス (UHM Only) (ENG and JPN versions)
  Includes
  Japan company handbook / Kaisha Shikiho (会社四季報) (latest 2 years), Shukan Ekonomisuto / 週刊エコノミスト, encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.  Click "Enter," and then type a search term in the search box.

• J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic journals) / J-ステージ  (科学技術情報発信・流通総合システム)  (ENG and JPN versions)

Other Helpful Sites

• NDL WARP(Web Archiving Project) / 国立国会図書館インターネット資料集保存事業  (ENG and JPN versions)
  Search site for online Japanese journals and web pages

Online Database Through UHM Library
(Valid UHM username and password are required!)

• ABI/Inform Global
  The premier business and management database providing extensive coverage of North America and the world.

• Academic Search Premier
  Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

• Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
  Bibliography of Asian Studies database published since 1971.

• Cambridge Journal Online
  Includes the most recent Journal of Asian Studies.

• Digital Dissertations
  Proquest digital dissertation database. Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and masters work of authors from 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts, and from 1997 on full-text is available for over 100,000 titles deposited with UMI.
   
• JStor
  Comprehensive archives of important scholarly journal literature.
   
• LexisUni
  Full text newspapers and magazines including the Japan Times, Daily Yomiuri, Daily Mainichi.

• MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
  The electronic version of the MLA Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals.

• Project Muse
  Full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. Links to JStor.
• The Asia-Pacific journal : Japan focus / 亜細亜太平洋月刊誌
  A peer-reviewed online pubcication. Articles can be searched from the Search tab.

Othe Helpful Online Search Tools

• Google Scholar
  Search the entire open access articles/books and UHM Only databases. Make sure you have set up your preference to the UHM Library. For more inf for the setting http://micro189.lib3.hawaii.edu/ezproxy/details.php?dbId=49905

• US Gov't report/article Search
  Search to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple databases of the US Government.

Cannot find journals in UH that contain articles that you are looking for?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form for articles and books unavailable at UH Mānoa

Visit: https://illiad.manoa.hawaii.edu/login/

Note: You may be required to login each time you make a request. 
ILL FAQs

The ILL staff will obtain items for you which are not owned or are unavailable in the UH Library system that will be used in support of your academic research, teaching, or studies. (Copyright restrictions may apply).

The UHM ILL Service:

• Accepts requests for books, journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, etc.
• Borrows items from other libraries outside of Hawaii on your behalf
• Provides ILLs free of charge, generally
• Please Note: We do not borrow UHM course textbooks for students.

Tips for ILL Services with Japan
As of Nov. 23, 2011, UHM Library and the University of the Ryukyus Library entered a special agreement to free receprocated ILL/DD transactions for items only available from each library holdings (borrowable materials only). This pilot project will end and be reviewed after five years.