University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Southeast Asia Research Guide: The House and the World: Architecture of Asia

Southeast Asian Studies resources.

The House and the World: Architecture of Asia

Search the Online Catalog (Note: the online catalog contains only the titles of books, journals, videos, and databases. It does not contain the titles of individual articles in journals)

Use the bibliographies in your course texts to find items of interest. Search the online catalog to find similar items.

The following geographic terms are useful for the countries and geographic regions of Southeast Asia. For Southeast Asia as a whole, use the geographic term "Southeast Asia."

Brunei Malaysia East Indies
Burma Philippines Indochina
Cambodia Singapore Malaya
Indonesia Thailand Malay Archipelago
Laos Vietnam Siam

To find the subject headings for ethnic groups, refer to the subject heading Ethnology--<name of country or region> in the Library of Congress Subject Headings

Subject words and phrases (combine these with the name of a country or ethnic group)

Architecture, domestic Dwellings Social life and customs
Vernacular architecture House furnishings Rites and ceremonies
Interior decoration Material culture Cosmology
Religious life and customs Pictorial works (use to find books containing mostly illustrations) House furnishings



Asia-specific Sources

General

World Bibliographical Series. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press.

For Southeast Asia bibliographies for the following countries have been 
published. 

Brunei / Sylvia C. Engelen Krausse, Gerald H. Krausse. 1988 

Burma / Patricia M. Herbert, compiler. 1991 

Cambodia / Helen Jarvis, compiler. 1997 

Indonesia / Gerald H. Krausse, Sylvia Engelen Krausse. 1994 

Laos / Helen Cordell, compiler. 1991 

Malaysia / Ooi Keat Gin, compiler. 1999 [also 1986 ed. Ian Brown, Rajeswary Ampalavanar, compilers. ]

Philippines / Jim Richardson, compiler. 1989 

Singapore / Stella R. Quah, Jon S.T. Quah, compilers. 1988 

Thailand / David Smyth, compiler. 1998 (Z 3236 .S65x 1998) [also 1986 ed. by Michael Watts ]

Timor : including the islands of Roti and Ndao / Ian Rowland, compiler. 1992 

Vietnam / David G. Marr, compiler ; with the assistance of Kristine Alilunas-Rodgers. 1992

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Ann Arbor, Mich., Association for Asian Studies, 1941-1970 
Online 1971-

Southeast Asian serials index [computer file]. Canberra, ACT : Library, Asia-Pacific Cluster, Australian National University in cooperation with the Library, Royal Institute of Linguistics and Anthropology, Leiden, the Netherlands, 1995-
Indonesia focus, but not exclusively

Sources on Culture - Regional

Ethnic groups of insular Southeast Asia / Frank M. LeBar, editor and compiler. New Haven : Human Relations Area Files Press, 1972-75. 2v.
v. 1: Indonesia, Andaman Islands, Madagascar
v. 2: Philippines, Formosa

Ethnic groups of mainland Southeast Asia / Frank M. LeBar, Gerald C. Hickey [and] John K. Musgrave. New Haven : Human Relations Area Files Press, 1964.

Ethnic groups of northern Southeast Asia. New Haven : Yale University, Southeast Asian Studies, 1950. 
Northern Burma, northern Thailand, northern Indochina, south China

The Malay world of Southeast Asia : a select cultural bibliography / compiled by P. Lim Pui Huen. Singapore : Programme on the Cultural Heritage of Southeast Asia, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 1986. 
Covers Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, southern Thailand. See especially chapter on Art, p. 369-385 (includes sections on architecture)

Indonesia

Indonesian heritage [computer file] : people, places, history, art, culture, topography, geography, biology, zoology, religion, economy, anthropology, architecture, education, environment-- : the online encyclopedia and culture guide of Indonesia.
A searchable online encyclopedia of Indonesia.

Indonesian heritage. Jakarta : Published by Buku Antar Bangsa for Grolier International : Distributed exclusively by PT. Widyadara, c1996-
10 v.
v. 6: Architecture -- v. 7: Visual Arts -- v. 9: Religion and Ritual

Philippines

Encyclopedia of Philippine folk beliefs and customs / compiled and edited by Francisco R. Demetrio ; assisted by Marcelino C. Panis, Jr. ... [et al. ; illustrators, Dario Noche, Elvira Farolan]. Cagayan de Oro City, R.P. : Xavier University, 1991. 2v.
See especially chapters XIII-XV in volume 2: House, New House, and Household Utensils and Objects.

Filipino heritage : the making of a nation. Manila : Lahing Pilipino Publishing, 1979.
10 v.
Index to all 10 volumes located at end of volume 10.

Kasaysayan : the story of the Filipino people / project director, Teresa Ma. Custodio ; executive editor, Jose Y. Dalisay, Jr. Hong Kong : Asia Pub. Co., c1998.
10 v.
See especially volumes 2 and 4. 

General Resources - Indexes

[Note that depending on the index the official descriptor for houses may be either the term "houses" or the term "dwellings"]

Architecture

Art Abstracts [computer file]. Bronx, N.Y. : H.W. Wilson Co., 1984-
Indexes More than 250 key international, English-language arts publications. Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Covers art, archaeology, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, television, textiles and video.

Avery index to architectural periodicals [computer file]. Mountain View, Calif. : Research Libraries Information Network, 1930-
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation,
and landscape architecture

Anthropology

Anthropological index [computer file]. London : RAI, 1971-
Print version, 1963-1976 
The Anthropological Index is a regionally arranged subject and author index to periodical articles in all areas of anthropology. It is produced
by the Museum of Mankind Library

Anthropological literature [computer file]. Cambridge, Mass. : Tozzer Library, Harvard University, 1984-
Print version, 1979-1983 
Anthropological literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, linguistics, psychology and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present.

Encyclopedia of world cultures / David Levinson, editor in chief. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-
10 v.
v. 5: East and Southeast Asia
Contains short descriptions and bibliographies of various cultures, useful as background information.

Human relations area files. New Haven, Conn. : Human Relations Area Files
Web version available through Networked Resources in Library Gateway and through Library Catalog
(search on title: HRAF collection on ethnography)
[Note: Web version is not as complete as the fiche version]
Online guide and further information at http://www.yale.edu/hraf/

Sociological abstracts [computer file]. 1963-
Print version, 1953- (Olin Z7163 .S67 +)
Contains records from 3,000 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences.