Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : Hawaiian Historical Society

Summary: This Historical Society contains just under a thousand maps of Hawaii and the pacific. The date range is from 1778 with maps from the era of Captain Cook to as recent as 1950.  They have some beautiful hand-drawn maps from the Mission School in 1834.  They recently received a large donation of maps from Karen Hoffsted and they plan to name this collection after her.  There is also a large aerial photograph collection housed at the Maui Historical Society which is searchable via a database.

Finding Tools: Ask a Librarian!  Make an appointment- the map collections are cataloged on a print card catalog system. They also have finding aids to help your search.  Aerial maps can be searched via the Maui Historical societies database by entering the keyword "aerial."  

Accessibility:   All maps except those that are being conserved can be viewed by the public.  None of them are digitized and there is not a digital database to search for the maps but there is a card catalog and finding aids.  The public is allowed to take digital photos of the maps.  They hope to digitize the maps in the near future but are currently digitizing their newspaper collections.  

Contact:

Email:hhsisbear@lava.net

Web Luna:web@hawaiianhistory.org
Twitter:@HawaiianHistory
Facebook:http://tinyurl.com/hhsfb

Office:808-537-6271
Fax:808-537-6271

Library Hours:
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
Friday: 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

The Maui Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of Maui's historical heritage. In addition to the Bailey House Museum, the Maui Historical Society also operates an archival resource center which includes a map collection. The collection contains Wailuku sugar maps, soil maps, tax maps, and topographical maps.

List of maps available: http://www.mauimuseum.org/content/4efa73129fde2/Map_Collection.html

Maps are viewable only during research hours by appointment only. Please review their procedures for research requests and use of materials prior (http://www.mauimuseum.org/content/4bba3ae463555/Procedures_and_List_of_Collections_.html).

Maui Historical Society
2375-A Main Street
Wailuku, HI 96793

Phone: (808) 244-3326
Website: http://www.mauimuseum.org/