Research Guides: Hawai`i's Military Archives, Museums and Libraries : Memorials and Monuments

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific

Erected to honor those who served in the "Pacific during World War II and in the Korean War".

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific from the United States Department of Veteran's Affairs
Link provides information concerning the history of the Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific as well as contact information and office and visitation hours.

E-books and Publications (PDF)

Historic Resource Study U.S.S. Arizona Memorial
Outlines the attacks on Pearl Harbor of December 7, 1941, using official U.S. government sources. See appendices to identify additional sources and related government publications.
NPS Museum Handbook
This is a three-part handbook that discusses museum collections, museum records, and the use of museum collections. Handbook focuses on preservation, use and research related to the NPS museum collections.
U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
"Honolulu Memorial was erected to honor the sacrifices and achievements of American Armed Forces in the Pacific during World War II and in the Korean War". View the following link for hours, location and further details regarding the Memorial.

Internet Resources

National Park Service (NPS)
The National Park Service funds and maintains Hawaii's war memorials and related historical collections.
Search the National Register of Historic Places (NPS)
Here the National Park Service provides access to its database of Historic Places.
Pacific Historic Parks
Includes information of Memorials at Pearl Harbor, including U.S.S. Arizona restoration efforts.

Valor in the Pacific National Monument (Pearl Harbor, HI)/(Oahu)

The Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, was a catalyst in World War II that altered our world's history. The National Park Service honors and preserves these historic events through the Valor in the Pacific National Monument which includes the Visitor's Center, U.S.S. Arizona Memorial, U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial, U.S.S. Utah Memorial and the Pacific Aviation Museum.

For more information about the Valor in the Pacific National Monument and its various components, visit the following links:

Pearl Harbor National Memorial
National Monument includes multiple sites on Ford Island, including the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial, U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial, and U.S.S. Utah Memorial.
Battleship Missouri Memorial
Part of the Valor of the Pacific National Monument. Memorial located at 63 Cowpens Street, Ford Island, Honolulu, HI 96818.
U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial
U.S.S. Utah Memorial
At this time, the USS Utah Memorial on Ford Island is only open to visitors with a government ID card.

Waikiki Natatorium War Memorial

Waikiki Natatorium War Memorial
Located at 2815 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Hawaii, 96815, near Kapiolani Park in downtown Honolulu, the Waikiki Natatorium War Memorial honors Hawaiians who served in the U.S. Armed Forces during World War I.