Research Guides: Finding Court Records in Hawai‘i: Federal and International Court Records

United States District Court

U.S. District Court of Hawaiʻi online records are available through PACER or in person through the U.S. District Court Hawaiʻi. All records in the clerk's office are available to the public, except for those sealed by the court. Archival requests are available. Individuals who request files from archives can expect to review those files within 2-3 weeks. There is a retrieval fee of $45.00.

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet. Searching the database is free but there is a fee to download documents. Coverage is from 2006-present.

U.S. District Court, District of Hawaiʻi Records
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER)
Available to anyone who registers for an account. Information available includes case and docket information for district, bankruptcy and appellate courts.

International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice provides information on Contentious Cases and Advisory Decisions. Publications including Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders and Pleadings, Oral Arguments, Documents are published and available are able for purchase.

Nexis Uni Database

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni includes federal, state and international legal materials from as far as 20 years back. It requires a UH login and password for access.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar includes legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts.The link below requires a UH username and password for access, but another version of Google Scholar is available to the public.

Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Legal Collection

The Legal Collection includes articles written on court decisions. The following database requires a UH login and password for access.

Legal Collection
Contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.