University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

Find Psychological/Educational Tests, Scales, and Measurements: Guide

Introduction

Tests and measurements are survey tools that gauge certain traits, aptitude, habits, or needs. This guide will help you locate test information, test reviews, and full text copies of tests.

Electronic Resources with Tests, Scales and Measurements

Select Print Resources with Tests, Scales and Measurements

Titles of the specific instruments contained in the books below are provided in Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes online at:  http://libraries.uta.edu/TMdb

Bearden WO; Netemeyer RG & Mobley MF. (1999). Handbook of marketing scales: Multi item measures for marketing and consumer behavior research. 2nd ed. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, HF 5415.3 .B323
Includes 197 instruments in the areas of traits, values, price perception, advertising stimuli, business performance, and sales

Bruner GC II & Hensel PJ (1992). Marketing scales handbook: A compilation of multi-item measures. Chicago: American Marketing Association.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, HF 5415.3 .B785 1992 v. 3
Includes 941 instruments in the areas of consumer behavior, advertising, salespeople, marketing management, and distributors

Corcoran K & Fischer J (2000). Measures for clinical practice: A sourcebook. 3rd Ed. New York: Free Press
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, BF 176 .C66
Includes 423 instruments for couples, families and children in areas such as abuse, behavior, family functioning, health, psychopathology, and stress

Gordon, J. (2004). Pfeiffer’s classic inventories, questionnaires, and surveys for training and development. San Francisco, CA: John Wiley & Sons.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, HD 57.7 .G78
Includes 37 instruments to assess a manager’s values, performance, and behavior

Handbook of sexuality-related measures. (1998). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, HQ 60 .H36
Includes 196 instruments in 86 areas of sexuality such as abortion, contraception, HIV/ADS, and homosexuality

Lester PE; Bishop LK. (2000). Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences. 2nd ed. Lancaster, PA: Technomic Publishing Co
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, LB 3051 .L4543
Includes 125 instruments in the areas of education and social science

Lopez SJ; Snyder CR. (2003). Positive psychological assessment: A handbook of models and measures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, BF 176 .P67
Includes 19 instruments in the areas of interpersonal communication, psychology, and personal relationships

Manusov V. (2005). The sourcebook of nonverbal measures: Going beyond words. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, P 99.5 .S58
Includes 27 instruments in the areas of interpersonal communication, psychology, and personal relationships

Miller DC. (2002). Handbook of research design and social measurement. 6th ed. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, H 62 .M44
Includes 15 instruments in the areas of social status, group structure, community, and social participation

Robinson JP, Shaver PR & Wrightsman LS (1991). Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes. San Diego: Academic Press.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, BF 698.4 .M38 1991
Includes 112 instruments in the areas of response bias, subjective well-being, self-esteem, social anxiety, depression, alimentation, interpersonal trust, control, authoritarianism, sex roles, and values

Robinson JP, Rusk JG & Head KB (1968). Measures of political attitudes. Ann Arbor, MI: Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, JA 74 .R57
Includes 95 instruments in the areas of liberalism-conservatism, democratic principles, domestic government policies, racial attitudes, hostility-related national attitudes, community-base political attitudes, political information, political participation, and political process

Rubin RB, Rubin AM, Graham EE, Perse EM & Seibold DR. (2009). Communication research measures II: A sourcebook. New York: Routeledge.
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, P 91.3 .C623
Includes 74 instruments in the areas of mass, interpersonal, instructional, and group/organizational communication
 

Locating Reviews and Publication Information

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, LB 3050 .M46
A companion to Test in Print. Provides basic bibliographic information and one or more reviews of the test and testing materials by qualified psychologists. Search online at http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp.

PsycINFO
Bibliographic database indexing published research in psychology since 1887.

Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, HQ 728 .T68
Includes basic bibliographic information along with reliability and validity descriptions.

Tests
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, BF 176 .T43
A companion to Test Critiques. Includes basic bibliographic entries. There are no critical reviews

Tests Critiques
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, BF 176 .T419
A companion to Tests. Provides basic bibliographic information along with practical applications and critics.

Tests in Print
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, LB 3051 .T47
A companion to Mental Measurements Yearbook. Includes basic bibliographic entries. There are no critical reviews.

Useful Links

American Psychological Association, Testing and Assessment
http://www.apa.org/science/programs/testing/index.aspx

Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium
http://www.webpages.ttu.edu/areifman/qic.htm

Survey Instruments in Information Systems
http://www.ucalgary.ca/~newsted/tutor.htm

Call or email us

    General reference assistance via email

  
  emailref@hawaii.edu


    Call the main reference desk

    (808) 956-7214

Library Home  |  Research Tools  |  Personal Services  |  About the Library  |  Terms of Use  |  UH Manoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us