University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Sinclair Library: Library Database Tutorials

JSTOR

JSTOR or Journal Storage is an online database that lets you search through over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. You can access this through the Hamilton Library website or the Sinclair Library website under electronic resources and databases. How to search:

  1. From the electronic resources and database page, type “JSTOR” into the search box and click the search button.

  2. Scroll down to the JSTOR results and click on the “JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection”.

  3. This will take you to a descriptive page about the database. Click on the hyperlinked title “JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection”.

  4. If you are off campus, you will be directed to login with your UH user name and password. Once you have logged in, you will be shown the homepage for this database.

  5. JSTOR offers both browse and search options. To browse, choose options from the “browse” tab. To perform a basic search you can either use the search box on the home page to type in key words or you can choose “basic search” from the “search” tab which will also take you to a page with helpful tips and tutorials on how to make your search successful.

  6. To perform an advanced search, choose “advanced search” from the “search” tab. On the advanced search page, drop-down boxes allow you to choose which fields you would like to search such as author, title, or abstract. You can also connect your search terms using AND, OR, and NOT.

  7. Limiters listed below the search box allow you to specify your search by choosing things like what date range to search in or what type of article such as a review or editorial you would like to search for.

  8. To go back to the beginning you may click the JSTOR icon.

NAXOS

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 250 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.

  1. From the electronic resources and database page, type NAXOS into the search box and click the search button.

  2. This will take you to a descriptive page about the database. Click on the hyperlinked title “NAXOS Music Online”.

  3. If you are off campus, you will be directed to login with your UH user name and password. Once you have logged in, you will be shown the homepage for this database.

  4. NAXOS offers both browse and search options. For more information on how to use these features click here.

  5. To learn how to search in advanced mode, click on the advanced search tab at the top of the page to search by genre, composer, mood and period of a musical piece. Click here to learn about other options in finding the most information from your search experience.

  6. To learn how to build playlists through the NAXOS database, click here.

  7.  

Click here to start search

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music


Created with flickr slideshow.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online database that lets you search through more than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, making the most complete Body of work focused on world music. You can access this through the Hamilton Library website or the Sinclair Library website under electronic resources and databases. How to search:

  1. From the electronic resources and database page, type Garland Encyclopedia into the search box and click the search button.

  2. Click on the The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online.

  3. This will take you to a descriptive page about the database. Click on the hyperlinked title “The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online”.

  4. If you are off campus, you will be directed to login with your UH user name and password. Once you have logged in, you will be shown the homepage for this database.

  5. Garland offers both browse and search options. You can browse by genre, such as American Folk, Blues, Chamber, Contemporary Music and many more options. You can choose the “browse” tab on the top or the left hand side under browse. To perform an advanced search, click on the advanced button on top of the page, and this will take you to another screen with helpful tips on how to do your search.

  6. You can create playlists by clicking on the playlist tab on the home page. This takes you to the playlist page where there are three options. These options will help you create and save your playlist from the music selected in this database.

  7. For more tips on getting started, basic information on the database itself, along with browsing and searching strategies, click on the help tab on the top of the page.

To start click here

Streaming Videos

Many of the VHS, U-matic, and Beta tapes in the Sinclair library collection have now been streamed for both preservation purposes as well as to help make them more easily accessible to patrons since these formats are obsolete or nearly obsolete. This will also make these films easier to share through out the UH Library system since patrons from all of the UH campuses will be able to search for and view these videos from the Voyager catalog.

  1. In the basic search type in the subject you’d like to look for such as Hawai’i, then type in streaming Sinclair to search specifically for the streamed format.

  2. You may also come across streamed videos when you search generally for films, videos or dvds. For example, by selecting videorecording/DVD in the quick limit box, then typing in the key words “Bill Clinton” in the search box, I turn up VHS items, DVD items, and streamed items.

  3. To view a streamed video once you’ve found one, click on the hyperlinked URL provided. There may be more than one if it is a multi-volume work or if the film was so large it had to be broken up into two parts. Make sure you click on the URL and NOT the electronic format sign.

  4. You will be asked to login with your UH username and password if you have not already done so. The video will open and begin playing. Note: You must have Quicktime to view these videos. This is a free download (Mac and Windows) at http://www.quicktime.com

Click here to start

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

  1. From the electronic resources and database page, type Oxford Music Online into the search box and click the search button.

  2. This will take you to a descriptive page about the database. Click on the hyperlinked title “Oxford Music Online” You may need to click on it twice.

  3. If you are off campus, you will be directed to login with your UH user name and password. Once you have logged in, you will be shown the homepage for this database.

  4. Once on the main page you have browsing and searching options. You have two search options: Quick Search: With quick search you can type or paste item you want to find in the search box. Search by source: With search by source you can narrow down it down to a one of the sources listed above. Just type or paste your information in the box and hit search.

  5. You also have the option to browse indexes including biographies, bibliographies, discographies, compilations and videographers.

  6. For more help tips and helpful hints on helping make the best search for your needs click on the help tab on the main page of Oxford Music Online.
Click here to start search