University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Maps

Worldwide

Topographic Maps — United States & Territories

USGS

The principal source for topographic maps of the United States and its territories is the US Geological Survey (USGS). USGS issues all current topos digitally and has created a database of historical topos for much of its catalog. Use the links below to explore the several ways USGS provides to view and download it's topo maps. MAGIS houses a collection of print USGS topographic maps at scales of 1:24,000, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000. Contact MAGIS staff if you have questions about printed USGS topographic maps.

Other Digital Collections

  • Pacific Islands Topographic Maps (Perry-Castañeda Library, University of Texas Libraries)
    USGS topos of American Samoa, Guam, Palau, Northern Marianas, and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Topographic Maps — Foreign

For some countries, these are the only maps available.

Joint Operations Graphic (JOG)

Worldwide coverage at a scale of 1:250,000 topographical/aeronautical.

Army Map Service (AMS) Series

The U.S. Army Mapping Service (AMS) sets were produced during World War II and cover most of Europe, North Africa, East and South Asia, and Pacific Islands. The scales vary from 1:250,000, 1:50,000, and 1:25,000. Consult library staff for assistance with this collection. AMS Catalog search form (click on Edit and add country name to focus search results). Please fill out and submit a service request form so we can retrieve the maps from our collection.

Digital AMS Series Online

Indexes to AMS and Other Topo Series

Nautical Charts

Nautical charts provide information about oceans, coasts, and harbors. Learn more about nautical charts on NOAA's website. Our extensive print collection covers waters of the World as well as the United States. Please consult with MAGIS staff. We retain historical charts for Hawaii and the Pacific islands.

Digital Collections

  • NOAA Charts for U.S. Waters (NOAA)
  • Historical Charts (NOAA)
    for the U.S. and territories/possessions. Results include bathymetric, base, gravity, magnetic, and other cartographic maps published by NOAA.
  • Global Charts
    Regions available online: North America; Western Africa, Mediterranean, Black Sea; Eastern Asia, South Eastern Russia, Philippines. We have fairly complete print holdings of all published charts. T

Indexes to Nautical Charts

Aeronautical Charts

Tactical Pilotage Chart (TPC)

The TPC is the standard worldwide medium-scale aeronautical chart series (1:500,000). TPCs provide essential cartographic data appropriate to scale, and are overprinted with stable aeronautical information such as contour lines, obstructions, special use air-space, navigational aids, and related data.

Operational Navigation Chart (ONC)

The ONC is the standard worldwide small-scale (1:1,000,000) aeronautical chart series, and contains cartographic data with an aeronautical overprint depicting obstructions, aerodromes, special use airspace, navigational aides, Maximum Elevation Figures (MEFs), and related data.

Jet Navigation Chart  (JNG)

Very small scale (1:2,000,000). Relief shown by contours, shading, tints, and spot heights. Includes terrain characteristic and water tints diagrams and index to JNC series.

Historical Maps

Digital Collections

  • Old Maps Online
    An gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search.
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    More than 79,000 of 150,000 maps have been digitized. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. 
  • Congressional Serials Set Maps (1817-1980) (UHM login required)
    Click on Newsbank Readex, then Serial Set Maps.

Selected Country and Regional Maps

Road and Tourist Maps 

We have a collection of country, U.S. state, city, and recreational maps. We also have DeLorme Street Atlases for western states. These maps are not cataloged.

Thematic Maps

 

Geologic Maps

Geological Maps are published by the Federal Government (USGS), state geological surveys, and professional societies. The USGS publishes geological maps of all states and many countries.  Good sources for identifying published geological maps are GeoRef and the National Geologic Map Database.  Once you have identified a map of interest, search the online library catalog to determine if the Library owns a print copy and to find the location and call no.  Many state geological surveys have maps available for download on their websites at no charge.

Military Maps

National Geographic Maps

We have a large collection of map supplements published in concert with National Geographic Magazine. Subjects range from physical/political maps of countries and world regions to world languages, bird migration, and earthquakes. These maps may be identified by using this library catalog search and adding your topic or place of interest to the second keyword search box.

Oil & Gas Maps

  • Oil and gas maps online (Perry Casteñada Library, University of Texas Libraries) 
  • The map collection also has print maps, a number of which are not available online due to copyright restrictions.

Political Maps

 

Outline Maps

Options for obtaining a very basic country or state map.

  • Maps on File (available in print in the Map Collection's reference section)
    Copyright free looseleaf sheets to copy or scan.
  • d-maps
    Nearly 200,000 free outline maps in various styles. Download in GIF, PDF, CDR, SVG, AI, or WMF format.
  • 17 Blank Maps of the U.S. and Other Countries (thoughtco.com)
  • Mapmaker 1-Page Maps (National Geographic)
    ​Easy to create one-page maps for countries, world regions, or states showing cities, rivers, and lakes.
  • CIA Maps
    Several types of map for select countries. The CIA World Factbook includes basic maps in country profiles. These U.S. government documents are copyright-free.
  • Printable Maps (The National Atlas)
    Developed as part of the 1997-2014 edition of the National Atlas and includes 113th Congressional Districts, Climate Maps, Federal Lands and Indian Reservations, Presidential Elections 1789 to 2012, Reference and Outline Maps of the United States, Satellite View Maps, Territorial Acquisitions of the United States, and Time Zones
  • Maps.com (UH login required)
    UH Libraries subscribes to Maps.com online. Go to the library catalog and search your country or state name and add maps.com to locate these. Adobe Digital Editions required to download. Maps of U.S. states include county boundaries.
  • Outline Map Sites (Perry Castenada Library, University of Texas Libraries)
    Extensive list.