University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

GIS Data

Data by Category

This guide suggests GIS data sources and imagery provided by various agencies and organizations. The resources are grouped by ISO 19115 Topic Categories.

 

Definition: legal land descriptions; e.g., political and administrative boundaries.

Definition: rearing of animals and/or cultivation of plants; e.g., agriculture, irrigation, aquaculture, plantations, herding, pests and diseases affecting crops and livestock.

Definition: processes and phenomena of the atmosphere; e.g., cloud cover, weather, climate, atmospheric conditions, climate change, precipitation.

  • Copernicus
    An EU Programme that provides satellite data of Earth observations. Requires registration to download data. Global coverage, mostly Europe.
  • NASA Earth Observation (NEO)
    Imagery of climate and environmental changes from satellite data. Imagery can be downloaded in jpeg, png, geotiff and kmz. Global coverage.
  • National Weather Service GIS Data Portal
  • Global Change Master Directory
  • NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
    NCEI is a consolidation of NOAA's three data centers: the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC), the National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC), and the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC). It provides access to oceanic, atmospheric and geophysical data. US and global coverage.
  • nowCOAST
    Web mapping portal to real-time coastal observations and NOAA forecasts.
  • IPCC Data Distribution Centre (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)
    This site has climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future. It is is designed primarily for climate change researchers — finding the data you are looking for may not be straightforward.
  • Climate Research Unit
    Global and regional climatological data. Temperature, precipitation, pressure, drought, paleo climate.

Definition: flora and/or fauna in natural environment; e.g., wildlife, vegetation, biological sciences, ecology, wilderness, sealife, wetlands, habitat.

Definition: economic activities, conditions and employment; e.g., production, labour, revenue, commerce, industry, tourism and ecotourism, forestry, fisheries, commercial or subsistence hunting, exploration and exploitation of resources such as minerals, oil and gas.

  • SocialExplorer (UHM login required)
    Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
  • World DataBank (World Bank)
  • Energy Maps and Data (U.S. Energy Information Administration)
    International and country data are also available at this site.

Definition: information used for appropriate actions for future use of the land; e.g., land use maps, zoning maps, cadastral surveys, land ownership.

  • For tax parcel and zoning data, check with the GIS office for the county or city of interest.

Definition: characteristics of society and cultures; e.g., settlements, anthropology, archaeology, education, traditional beliefs, manners and customs, demographic data, recreational areas and activities, social impact assessments, crime and justice, census information.

Definition: height above or below sea level; e.g., altitude, bathymetry, digital elevation models, slope, derived products.

Definition: environmental resources, protection and conservation; e.g., environmental pollution, waste storage and treatment, environmental impact assessment, monitoring environmental risk, nature reserves, landscape.

  • Copernicus
    An EU Programme that provides satellite data of Earth observations. Requires registration to download data. Global coverage, mostly Europe.
  • EPA EJSCREEN
    EPA's environmental justice screening and mapping tool. US coverage.
  • Environmental Data Explorer (UNEP)
    United Nations Environment Program Data Explorer database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering categories such as Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health, and GDP.
  • FEMA GIS Data Feeds
    GIS data on current and historical disaster declarations. US coverage.
  • NASA Earth Observation (NEO)
    Imagery of climate and environmental changes from satellite data. Imagery can be downloaded in jpeg, png, geotiff and kmz. Global coverage.

Definition: information pertaining to earth sciences; e.g., geophysical features and processes, geology, minerals, sciences dealing with the composition, structure and origin of the earth’s rocks, risks of earthquakes, volcanic activity, landslides, gravity information, soils, permafrost, hydrogeology, erosion.

Definition: health, health services, human ecology, and safety; e.g., disease and illness, factors affecting health, hygiene, substance abuse, mental and physical health, health services.

Definition: base maps; e.g., land cover, topographic maps, imagery, unclassified images, annotations.

  • Copernicus
    An EU Programme that provides satellite data of Earth observations. Requires registration to download data. Global coverage, mostly Europe.
  • Glovis
  • EarthExplorer
    • See also Elevation and Derived Products and Oceans, Coasts, and Estuaries.
  • NASA Earth Observation (NEO)
    Imagery of climate and environmental changes from satellite data. Imagery can be downloaded in jpeg, png, geotiff and kmz. Global coverage.
  • Remote Pixel
    Landsat-8 and Sentinel-2 search.

Definition: inland water features, drainage systems and their characteristics; e.g., rivers and glaciers, salt lakes, water utilization plans, dams, currents, floods, water quality, hydrographic charts.

Definition: features and characteristics of salt water bodies (excluding inland waters); e.g., tides, tidal waves, coastal information, reefs.

Definition: means and aids for conveying persons and/or goods; e.g., roads, airports/airstrips, shipping routes, tunnels, nautical charts, vehicle or vessel location, aeronautical charts, railways.

  • World Port Index
    Contains the location and physical characteristics of, and the facilities and services offered by major ports and terminals world-wide (approximately 3700 entries), in a tabular format. Entries are organized geographically, in accordance with the diagrams located in the front of the publication. The World Port Index publication can be downloaded in the following formats: Adobe PDF document file, Microsoft Access database, and ESRI Arc shapefile.
  • Global Roads
    Global Roads Open Access Data Set (gROADS), v1 (1980 – 2010). Data set of roads between settlements using a consistent data model (UNSDI-T v.2) which is, to the extent possible, topologically integrated.
  • National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD)
    The NTAD is a compilation of geospatial data sets representing the nation’s transportation infrastructure, containing roadways, railways, and airports. Reference boundary files from other government agencies are also included.