The online catalog of the University of Hawaii. Begin with keywords that describe your topic, such as behavior AND honeybees
Refine your search by clicking on a record and identifying relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Voyager Basic Search Tips
- Use ? to truncate words
- Use Journal Title Begins With to search for a particular journal
- Use Title Begins With to search, a book title,
example: Darwin's fishes will retrieve the record for this encyclopedic e-book published by Cambridge University Press.
- Search by keyword phrases by enclosing the phrases in quotes, example: "comparative physiology" keyword search
- Use the Get Item link to recall a checked out book or to request the book from another UH System library.
Search over e-journals, Hawaii Voyager, e-books in one search.
Annual Reviews via the UHM proxyserver
Annual Reviews is a collection of substantive review articles in a broad range of science and social science disciplines by scholars who are recognized as authorities in their fields.
Click on Search to look for articles in your topic areas.
Dissertations and Theses via the UHM proxyserver
Many of the theses and dissertations are available as full-text pdfs. UH dissertations will also be available in print (usually in-library use only)
Use Google Books to find information about your topic in books the UH Manoa Library may have on the shelves. Google Books provides a way to find information that might otherwise be hidden.
Search in Voyager on the titles of books that you find in Google Books to locate them on the UH Manoa Library shelves.
- Science & Technology Reference
Links to subject guides, contact information, workshops.
- Find Electronic Journals and Books
To find electronic journals provided by the UH Manoa Libraries search the Electronic Resources gateway. Note: the best way to link to articles is from the index through the FIND IT link.
- Library Hours
- Interlibrary Loan Services
Borrow articles and books from other libraries. A free service.
- Call Number Locations
Most of the science collections (Library of Congress alpha Q-V) will be in the Addition floors 1-4. Exceptions include items marked Folio, which are held on the 2nd floor Main, items held in Sinclair Library, and Oceanography (Library of Congress alpha GC on the 2nd floor Main)
- ID Library Registration
Your UH ID is also your library card but you need to register it with the UH Library. This can be done online or in person at a circulation desk.
- Reserving Presentation Practice Rooms
There are two presentation rooms in Hamilton Addition; reserve the room by filling in the calendar registration; then go to the Circulation desk to be let into the reserved room.
- Reserving Group Study Rooms
Reserve a group study room by filling in the calendar registration; then go to the Circulation desk to be let into the reserved room.
Images & Data
- Fishbase Fishbase.org
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
- Bishop Museum Ichthyology
Links to a checklist of fishes in Hawaii and a searchable database of the Bishop Museum's ichthyology collection.
- Catalog of Fishes
An internationally edited searchable database of fish, includes images and references. Includes data from the Catalog of Fishes.
A digital library from the libraries of 12 natural history museums that provides open access to historical volumes. BHL is affiliated with the Encyclopedia of Life
Hosted by the California Academy of Sciences, Schmeyer, W. N. (editor). Searching on a genus will retrieve literature references to the species descriptions. Serves as a pointer to the original description.