This is the "Research Tools" page of the "Maori Literature and Film" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Maori Literature and Film   Tags: film, literature, maori studies, pacific film, pacific literature  

A guide to researching writing and film by Maori, as well as Maori representations in literature and film. Originally produced for Maori 261.
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/maori261 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Film Resources

The photo above is from the film Made in Taiwan, which can be accessed via Films On Demand. Mouse over links for description -- items marked with an asterisk (*) are only available to UH-Manoa students, faculty and staff, with log-in required.

Online Bibliographies

The final two links on this list lead to bibliographies of general resources; all others are specific to literary subjects. Mouse over link for more information.

(Adobe PDF viewer required)

Internet Resources

 

Basic Reference Works

Below is a small sampling of the types of resources available for researching Pacific literature. (See also the list of online bibliographies at left.) Click on the highlighted titles to see where you can find copies of these books and journals in the Library. Check Locations! Items in the Voyager catalog marked UH Manoa: Hamilton Pacific Reference or UH Manoa: Hamilton Hawaiian Reference can be pulled directly off the reference shelves in the Hawaiian & Pacific reading room. For items marked UH Manoa Hawaiian Collection or UH Manoa Pacific Collection, request retrieval through the "Get This Item" link in Voyager. (Click here for instructions on how to request books using "Get This Item.")

A Motif-Index of Polynesian, Melanesian, and Micronesian Narratives - Kirtley, Bacil F.
Call Number: GR380 .K49 1980
A good source for those interested in folkloric studies, particularly in comparing traditions from different parts of the Pacific. Several broad subject headings (Mythological Motifs; Animals; Tabu; Magic; The Dead; etc.) are broken down into various sub-categories. Also useful for looking at contemporary Pacific literature, given that much modern writing draws on traditional characters and motifs.

Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology - Craig, Robert D.
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C7 1989
Good source of information on various mythological characters, which often find their way into modern Pacific literature.

Indigenous Literature of Oceania: A Survey of Criticism and Interpretation - Goetzfridt, Nicholas J.
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995
Goetzfridt is renowned for his detailed annotations. This bibliography is extremely useful for researching Pacific literature. Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.

The Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature - Robinson, Roger and Nelson Wattie, Editors
Call Number: PR 9620.2 .O88 1998
Although it's now 10 years old, this text provides valuable encyclopedia-style entries for numerous New Zealand-based Pacific writers, along with separate entries on their major works. Includes among others Robert Sullivan, Witi Ihimaera, Patricia Grace and Keri Hulme. Available in print or electronic form.

The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia - Lal, Brij V. and Kate Fortune, editors
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000
A very good source for a wide variety of information on all aspects of life in the Pacific, from pre-contact to present day. The Literature section (pp. 516-538) includes overviews on writing from various regions, as well as biographies for many Pacific writers.

 

Selected Academic and Literary Journals

The below journals include work either by or about Pacific writers, including poetry, prose, book reviews and longer works of literary criticism. For a more comprehensive list, follow the link to Pacific Islands Literature: A Selected Reading Guide  in the "Online Bibliographies" box at top left. Those marked below with two asterisks (**) are indexed in the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index. For more information on searching the index, see the Research Strategies page. Click on titles for holdings information.

 


 

**The Contemporary Pacific. Honolulu, Hawaii: Center for Pacific Islands Studies & University of Hawaii Press, c1989-

Widely regarded as one of the worldʻs premier scholarly journals of the Pacific. In addition to the print version, fulltext is available online. Click here for access to current issues (via the Universityʻs subscription to Project Muse); click here for free access to back-issues, via Scholarspace (the University Libraryʻs Open Access site). 

**Journal of the Polynesian Society. Wellington, N.Z. [etc.] Polynesian Society, 1892-

Literary history and criticism.

**Mana: a South Pacific Journal of Language and Literature (formerly **Mana Review). Suva, Fiji: Mana Publications, 1976-

Literary criticism, poetry and fiction.

Span. Brisbane, AUS: University of Queensland, 1975-

"Journal of the South Pacific Association For Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies." Includes poetry, short fiction, non-fiction, art and reviews.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip