Research Guides: Maori Literature and Film: Research Tools

Online Film Resources

Docuseek2
Docuseek2 includes a small selection of Pacific-related documentary films, including Advertising Missionaries (PNG), Arrows Against the Wind (West Papua), ,i>Rising Waters (sea-level rise in the Pacific), Standing on Sacred Ground: Profit and Loss (PNG and elsewhere),
more...less...
Note: OneSearch does not search the contents of the Docuseek2 database -- to find films held in this database, you will need to search directly within it.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides streaming access to educational videos in the humanities, social and natural sciences, business and health.
View Films on Demand tutorial

Hawaii & Pacific Streaming Films
This guide contains links to numerous online-streaming Hawaii- or Pacfic-related films that have been digiized from the library's physical film holdings. UH login is required to view most of these films.
Internet Archive : Movies
A collection of open-access films. Use the "advanced search" mode for better results.

Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" video platform for college campuses. UH-Manoa licenses select videos from the platform for course reserves. Covering many topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films.

Micronesian Seminar videos
The Micronesian Seminar video studio has produced more than 68 videos on health care, migration, history, youth, land, education, economics, business, and social issues. Most are available for free online viewing.
Moving Images of the Pacific Islands : A Guide To Films and Videos
This database of over 3,400 entries is produced by the UH-Manoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies, and is intended as a reference for those interested in films related to the Pacific Islands.
NZ On Screen
A wide array of documentary and feature films produced in Aotearoa/NZ, most of which are available for free online viewing.

Online Bibliographies

Island lives: a selected bibliography of biographies by Karen M. Peacock
Publication Date: 2007
Available online via ScholarSpace.
Useful to find biographical resources on important Pacific Island figures.
Pacific Islands Literature: A Selective Reading Guide by Karen M. Peacock and Stuart Dawrs
Publication Date: revised and updated, December 2014
Available online via ScholarSpace.
Earlier editions: 2012 and 2013.
This bibliography was originally compiled by Karen M. Peacock for LIS688 (Resources in Pacific Islands Studies), a graduate seminar in the UH-Manoa Library and Information Sciences program. It was most recently updated in December 2014 by Stuart Dawrs.

Internet Resources

Mouse over link for more information.

Pacific Collection Literature Links
Selected links to websites, including bibliographies, online journals, biographical sites and etc.
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Links to a variety of guides and manuals, compiled by the UHM library.

Basic Reference Works

Below is a small sampling of the types of resources available for researching Pacific literature. (See also the list of online bibliographies at left.) Click on the highlighted titles to see where you can find copies of these books and journals in the Library. Check Locations! Items in the Voyager catalog marked UH Mānoa: Hamilton Pacific Reference or UH Mānoa: Hamilton Hawaiian Reference can be pulled directly off the reference shelves in the Hawaiian & Pacific reading room. For items marked UH Mānoa Hawaiian Collection or UH Mānoa Pacific Collection, request retrieval through the "Get This Item" link in Voyager. (Click here for instructions on how to request books using "Get This Item.")

Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology by Craig, Robert D.
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C7 1989
ISBN: 9780313258909
Publication Date: 1989
Good source of information on various mythological characters, which often find their way into modern Pacific literature. An online copy available here for UHM affiliates.
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia by Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000
ISBN: 082482265x
Publication Date: 2000
A very good source for a wide variety of information on all aspects of life in the Pacific, from pre-contact to present day. The Literature section (pp. 516-538) includes overviews on writing from various regions, as well as biographies for many Pacific writers.
A Motif-Index of Polynesian, Melanesian and Micronesian Narratives by Bacil F. Kirtley; Richard M. Dorson (Editor)
Call Number: GR380 .K49 1980
Publication Date: 1981
A good source for those interested in folkloric studies, particularly in comparing traditions from different parts of the Pacific. Several broad subject headings (Mythological Motifs; Animals; Tabu; Magic; The Dead; etc.) are broken down into various sub-categories. Also useful for looking at contemporary Pacific literature, given that much modern writing draws on traditional characters and motifs.
Indigenous literature of Oceania : a survey of criticism and interpretation by Nicholas J. Goetzfridt
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995
ISBN: 9780313291739
Publication Date: 1995
A detailed survey of the expanding amount of critical and interpretive material written about the imaginative literature of authors from Oceania. It focuses on commentary and scholarship concerned with the poetry, fiction, and drama written in English by indigenous peoples of the Pacific Islands, New Zealand, and Australia. The criticisms have appeared in academic books and journals since the mid-1960s. An introductory essay summarizes the evolution of Pacific literature. Available in print or e-book format.
The Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature by Robinson, Roger and Nelson Wattie, Editors
Call Number: PR9620.2.O88 1998
ISBN: 0195583485
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia-style entries for numerous New Zealand-based Pacific writers, along with separate entries on their major works. Includes among others Albert Wendt, Robert Sullivan, Witi Ihimaera, Patricia Grace and Keri Hulme. Available in print or electronic form.

Selected Academic and Literary Journals

The below journals include work either by or about Pacific writers, including poetry, prose, book reviews and longer works of literary criticism. For a more comprehensive list, follow the link to Pacific Islands Literature: A Selected Reading Guide in the "Online Bibliographies" box at top left. Those marked below with two asterisks (**) are indexed in the Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index. For more information on searching the index, see the Research Strategies page. Click on titles for holdings information.

**The Contemporary Pacific. Honolulu, Hawaiʻi: Center for Pacific Islands Studies & University of Hawaiʻi Press, c1989-

Widely regarded as one of the worldʻs premier scholarly journals of the Pacific. In addition to the print version, fulltext is available online. Click here for access to current issues (via the Universityʻs subscription to Project Muse); click here for free access to back-issues, via Scholarspace (the University Libraryʻs Open Access site).

**Journal of the Polynesian Society. Wellington, N.Z. [etc.] Polynesian Society, 1892-

Literary history and criticism.

**Mana: a South Pacific Journal of Language and Literature (formerly **Mana Review). Suva, Fiji: Mana Publications, 1976-

Literary criticism, poetry and fiction.

Span. Brisbane, AUS: University of Queensland, 1975-

"Journal of the South Pacific Association For Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies." Includes poetry, short fiction, non-fiction, art and reviews.