Bureau of Labor Statistics - Government Documents - Department of Labor - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Contact the BLS

BLS contact form and phone numbers

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) was created within the Bureau of Labor in 1885 shortly after the Department was created. It is "the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making." (BLS website)

The first hundred years of the Bureau of Labor Statistics by Joseph P. Goldberg and William T. Moye
Call Number: GOVD L 2.3:2235
ISBN: 0935043012
Publication Date: 1985

National Archives - Records of the Bureau of Labor Statistics
The National Archives holds the records from 1885 to 1995 for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
BLS history

BLS statistics by industry
Data tools
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
News releases: major economic indicators
You can sign up to receive alerts of BLS news releases.
FRASER
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research has many historical statistical publications from BLS going back as far as the early 1900s.
Prices and Wages by Decade
University of Missouri-created resource that provides links to price and wage data from the 1700s to the present.
Handbook of methods
"The BLS Handbook of Methods presents detailed explanations of how the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) obtains and prepares the economic data it publishes. BLS statistics are used for many purposes, and sometimes data well suited to one purpose may have limitations for another. This publication aims to provide users of BLS data with the most current information necessary to evaluate the suitability of the statistics for their needs."

Government Documents holds an extensive collection of BLS publications, including the following series:

Career guide to industries
Call Number: GOVD L 2.3/4-3:
Occupational outlook handbook
Call Number: GOVD L 2.3/4:
Learn about careers, earnings, educational requirements, and employment prospects for hundreds of jobs.
Monthly labor review
Call Number: GOVD L 2.6:
Magazine with articles about national and international labor issues.
Employment and earnings
Call Number: GOVD L 2.41/2:
Local area labor force data, hours, and earnings.
Career outlook
Call Number: GOVD L 2.70/4:
Formerly Occupational outlook quarterly, this periodical contains articles about jobs, careers, and employment.
CPI detailed report
Call Number: GOVD L 2.38/3:
Consumer price index for the purchase price of a representative selection of goods and services.
PPI detailed report
Call Number: GOVD L 2.61:
Producer price indexes measure the change over time of selling rices received by producers.
Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Call Number: GOVD L 2.3:
Publication Date: 1913-

Additional documents covering 1910-1932 are available in the Executive Branch Documents microfiche set. Older BLS documents are available in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM Login required).

We also have a variety of general publications, pamphlets, and other BLS materials, as well as Congressional hearings, documents, and reports about labor in the U.S. Please contact a government documents librarian if you have questions about our holdings.

Western Information Office
Hawai‘i-focused labor statistics
Hawai‘i Economy at a Glance
Labor force, employment, and unemployment

Subject Guide

Gwen Sinclair

Email Me

Contact:

2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu HI 96822

808-956-2549

Subjects: Government Documents

Government Documents - Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics

Contact the BLS

Subject Guide