The works listed in this guide have been selected because they have extensive references to the colonial period in Southeast Asia or because they were published in the colonial era. The time period of the colonial era varies according to country, beginning as early as the 16th century in the Philippines and as late as the mid 19th century for the countries of Indochina. Thailand was never colonized but works covering Thailand during the colonization of its neighbors are included. The colonial period ends in the years immediately following World War II.
Southeast Asia (general)
Bibliotheca indosinica : dictionnaire bibliographique des ouvrages relatifs a la peninsule Indochinoise.
Paris : Imprimerie nationale, E. Leroux, 1912-15. 4 v.
Friederici, Karl. Bibliotheca Orientalis.
A complete list of books, papers, serials, essays, etc. published from the year 1876 to 1883 on the history, languages, religions, antiquities and literature of the East..
Amsterdam, Oriental Press, 1967.
Heine-Geldern, Robert. "Suedostasien : Voelkerkundliche Bibliographie."
Ethnologischer Anzeiger
1 (1928), pp. 110-154 ; 2 (1929-1932), pp. 349-392 ; 4 (1937), pp. 150-299.
A bibliography of Japanese works on the overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia, 1914-1945.
Hong Kong: Asian Research Service, c1992.
Southeast Asia : an annotated bibliography of selected reference sources.
Southeast Asia, 1935-45 : a selected list of reference books.
Southeast Asia : Selected Annotated Bibliography of Japanese Publications.
New Haven, CT : Southeast Asia Studies, Yale University, in association with Human Relations Area Files, 1956.
Bibliotheca marsdeniana philologica et orientalis. A catalogue of books and manuscripts collected with a view to the general comparison of languages, and to the study of Oriental literature.
London, Printed by J. L. Cox, 1827.
Nan’yo = (South Seas) : an annotated bibliography.
Honolulu, Hawaii : Center for Asian and Pacific Studies, Council for Japanese Studies, University of Hawaii, 1982.
Southeast Asia : a critical bibliography
Deutsche Sudost- und Ostasienbibliographie, 1933- 1943 : Niederlandisch-Indien, Franzosisch-Indochina, Siam, Philippinen, Britisch-Malaya und -Borneo, Mandschurei, Ostasien allgemein.
Sternstein, Larry and Carl Springer.
An annotated bibliography of material concerning Southeast Asia from Petermanns Geographische Mitteilungen, 1855-1966.
Bangkok : Siam Society, 1967.
Burma
Catalogue of the Mandalay manuscripts in the India Office Library.
Woking and London : Gresham Press, 1897. [Reprinted from the Journal of the Pali Text Society]
Hall, D.G.E. "Bibliography of Anglo-Burmese relations."
Bulletin of the International Committee of Historical Sciences
(Paris) 11 (Oct. 1939): 545-554. [this issue not held by Cornell]
Hobbs, Cecil C. "Reading list on Burma."
Far Eastern Quarterly
Bibliotheca catholica Birmana.
Rangoon : British Burma Press, 1915.
Luce, G.H. and Pe Maung Tin. "Burma down to the fall of Pagan : an outline (part I)."
Journal of the Burma Research Society
A bibliographic account of the Pitakas and other Burmese literature.
Rangoon (1906) (in Burmese)
Some observations on libraries, manuscripts and books of Burma from the 3rdd century A.D. to 1886.
London : Arthur Probsthain (1956)
Journal of the Burma Research Society.
Rangoon : The Society, 1911-1981
Cambodia
Kampuchea.
Munster : SZD-Verlag, 1981. v. 1 : Sozialhistorische Bibliographie zu Kampuchea von der Vorgeschichte bis 1954.
Feer, M.L. "Etudes cambodgiennes."
Journal asiatique
, VIIe serie, IX (1877) pp. 161-234.
Kambuja suriya.
Indochina
Bibliographie critique des oeuvres parues sur l’Indochine francaise.
Paris : G.P. Maisonneuve & Larose, 1965. "Bibliographie." In
Bulletin de la Societe academique indo-chinoise
, 2e serie, t. 1-3 (1881-1890). t. 1, pp. 235-357 ; t. 2, pp. 325-410 ; t. 3, pp. 399-540.
Bibliographie de l’Indochine francaise.
Supplement. Hanoi : Direction des archives et des bibliotheques, 1924-1925. 2nd-12th supplements.
Bibliographie des voyages dans l’Indochine francaise du IXe au XIXe siecle.
New York : Burt Franklin, 1970. [Reprint. Originally published in 1910]
Dictionnaire de bio-bibliographie generale ancienne et moderne de l’Indochine francais.
Paris : Societe d’Editions Geographiques, Maritimes et Coloniales, 1935.
Livre d’or du Cambodge, de la Cochinchine : et de l’Annam,1625-1910 : (biographie) et bibliographie.
New York : Franklin, 1971. [Reprint: Originally published in 1910]
Bibliographie de l’Indochine francaise.
Hanoi, Imprimerie d’Extreme-Orient, 1929-67. 5 v.
Indochina : a Bibliography of the Land and People.
Liste des imprimes deposes.
French Indochina. Direction des archives et des bibliotheques. Hanoi, Impr. D’Extreme-Orient, 1925-1944.
Maybon, Charles. "Note sur les travaux bibliographiques concernant l’Indochine francaise."
Bulletin de l’Ecole francaise d’Extreme-Orient
, v. 10, no. 2 (Avril-Juin 1910), pp. 409-421.
Bulletin de la Societe des etudes indo-chinoises de Saigon.
Societe des etudes indochinoises. Saigon, 1883-1975.
Revue indo-chinoise.
Hanoi, F.H. Schneider, 1893-1925.
La Revue indochinoise juridique & economique.
Hanoi : Imprimerie d’Extreme-Orient, 1937-1943.
Index indochinensis : an English and French index to Revue indochinoise, Extreme-Asie, Extreme-Asie—Revue indochinoise, and La Revue indochinoise juridique et economique.
Hong Kong : Centre of Asian Studies, University of Hong Kong, 1983.
Thu tich chu giai lich su Viet Nam qua cac tap chi Phap ngu, 1865-1970.
Bulletin de l’Ecole Francaise d’Extreme-Orient
Bulletin de la Societe des Etudes Indochinoises
Excursions et Reconnaissances
France Asie
Revue Indochinoise
Indonesia
Encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie.
‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1917-1939. 8 v.
Beknopte encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie.
‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1921.
Encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie, met medewerking van verschillende ambtenaren, geleerden en officieren.
‘s Gravenhage ; Leiden : M. Nijhoff, 1895-1905. 4 v.
The colonial past : Dutch sources on Indonesian history.
Amsterdam : Royal Tropical Institute, c1991.
Catalogus der bibliotheek van het Indisch Genootschap te ‘s Gravenhage.
‘s Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1869.
Chijs, Jacobus Anne van der.
Proeve eener Ned : Indische bibliographie (1659-1870).
Batavia : Bruining & Wijt, 1875. (v.37) pp. 1-325
Proeve eener Ned. Indische bibliographie, 1659-1870 : Vermeerderde en verbeterde herdruk voor de jaren 1659-1720, supplement en verbeteringen voor de jaren 1721-1870.
Batavia : W. Bruining, 1880 (v. 39)
Proeve eener Ned. Indische bibliographie (1659-1870) Supplement II
... Batavia, Albrecht, 1903. (v. 55)
Dennys, N.B. "A contribution to Malayan bibliography."
Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society.
no. 5 (June 1880), pp. 69-123 ; no. 6 (December 1880), pp. 225-272
Preliminary checklist of Indonesian imprints during the Japanese period (March 1942-August 1945) with annotations.
Ithaca,N. Y., Modern Indonesia Project, Southeast Asia Program, Dept. of Southeast Asian Studies, Cornell University, 1963.
Repertorium op de literatuur betreffende de Nederlandsche kolonien voor zoover zij verspreid is in tijdschriften en mengelwerken Met een alphabetisch zaaken plaats-register
[1866- 1932]. ‘sGravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1895 9 v.
Repertorium op de koloniale litteratuur, of Systematische inhoudsopgaaf van hetgeen voorkomt over de kolonien (beoosten de Kaap) in mengelwerken en tijdschriften van 1595 tot 1865 uitgegeven in Nederland en zijne overzeesche bezittingen.
Amsterdam, P. N. van Kampen & zoon, 1877-80. 2 v.
Overzicht van publikaties uitgegeven door het Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1851-1976.
Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1976.
Proeve eener geographische bibliographie van Nederlandsch Oost-Indie voor de jaren 1865-1880.
Utrecht : J.L. Beijers, 1881
Library of Congress. General Reference and Bibliography Division.
Netherlands East Indies, a bibliography of books published after 1930, and periodical articles after 1932, available in U.S. libraries.
Bibliografisch overzicht uit periodieken over Indonesi?1930-1945 = Bibliographical survey based on periodicals on Indonesia.
Leiden : Bibliotheek Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1974.
Catalogus der Koloniale Bibliotheek van het Kon. Instituut voor de Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde van Ned. Indie en het Indisch Genootschap.
‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1908. 7 v.
Bali
Bali en Lombok; overzicht der litteratuur omtrent deze eilanden tot einde 1919.
Rijswijk : Blankwaardt & Shoonhoven, 1920.
Lombok
Bali en Lombok; overzicht der litteratuur omtrent deze eilanden tot einde 1919.
Rijswijk : Blankwaardt & Shoonhoven, 1920.
Maluku
Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda.
The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor.
Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)
New Guinea
Rye, E.C. "A bibliography of New Guinea." Royal Geographical Society.
Supplementary Papers
vol. 1, part 2 (1884), pp. 287-337.
Timor
Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda.
The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor.
Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)
De Indische gids.
Amsterdam [etc.] J. H. de Bussy [etc.] 1879-1941.
Koloniaal tijdschrift.
Batavia [etc.] : Vereeniging van Ambtenaren bij het Binnenlandsch Bestuur in Nederlandsch-Indie, 1912-1941.
Koloniale studien, tijdschrift van de Vereeniging voor studie van kolonial- maatschappelijk vraagstukken.
Weltevreden : Albrecht and Co. [Etc.], 1916-1941.
Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur.
Batavia [etc.] G. Kolff & Co., 1887-1917.
Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde.
Djakarta [etc.] Koninklijk Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen [etc.], 1852-1955.
Tijdschrift voor Nederlandsch Indie.
Batavia [etc.] Ter Lands-drukkerij [etc.] 1838-1902
Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Gennootschap der Kunsten en Weetenschappen.
Bandoeng [etc.] A.C. Nix [etc.], 1779-1950. (v. 1-41 in Asia Rare)
Alfabetisch persoonsnamenregister behorende bij A. Hartmann’s Repertorium op de literatuur betreffende de Nederlandsche kolonien, voor zoover zij verspreid is in tijdschriften en mengelwerken.
Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1974.
Alfabetisch persoonsnamenregister : behorende bij J.C. Hooykaas' "Repertorium op de Koloniale litteratuur mengelwerken en tijdschriften van 1595-1865 uitgegeven": met een index op schepen.
Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1981.
Acht algemene tijdschriften, 1834-1864.
Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1993.
Indisch Genootschap, 1854-1940 : Handelingen en geschriften, 1854-1860, Verslagen der algemeene vergaderingen, 1861-1919, Verslagen der vergaderingen, 1920-1949.
Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1988.
Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur : [register en bibliografie].
Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1986-1987. 3 v.
Tijdschrift voor Nederlandsch Indie : [register en bibliografie].
Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1990-1992. 2 v.
De Indische gids, 1879-1941.
Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1979.
"Naimu gyosei zasshi" shoshu ronbun kiji mokuroku = A catalogue of the articles in Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur.
Tokyo : Tokyo Daigaku Toyo Bunka Kenkyujo Fuzoku Toyogaku Bunken Senta, 1985.
"Shokuminchi zasshi" (Koloniaal tijdschrift) shoshu ronbun mokuroku.
Tokyo : Tokyo Daigaku Toyo Bunka Kenkyujo Fuzoku Toyogaku Bunken Senta, Showa 59 [1984].
Klein Repertorium van couranten uit voormalig Nederlands Indie.
‚s- Gravenhage : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde ; Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen ; Koninklijke Bibliotheek, 1988.
The Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Genootschap: an annotated content analysis.
Athens, Ohio University, Center for International Studies, 1973.
Register op de artikelen voorkomende in het Tijdschrift voor Indische taal, land- en volkenkunde : en de Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen, loopende tot het jaar1907, benevens een inhoudsopgave tevens prijslijst van’s Genootschaps uitgaven bijgewerkt tot Juni 1908. Batavia : Albrecht & Co., 1908.
Register op de Indische couranten, 1810-1923.
‘s-Gravenhage : Algemeen Rijksarchief, 198-
Register op de uitgaven van het Koninklijk Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen, 1920-1940.
Bandoeng : A.C. Nix, 1942.
Register op de Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch genootschap : deel LVI (5e stuk)-LXI (1907-1919) en het Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde, deel LI-LVIII (1909-1919).
Weltevreden : N. v. unitg.-mit “Papyrus? 1920.
Bouwstoffen voor de sociaal-economische geschiedenis van Indonesie van ca. 1800 tot 1940 ; een beschrijvende bibliografie: Koloniale StudiËen, 1916-1941, Koloniaal Tijdschrift, 1912-1941. Amsterdam, (Mauritskade 63) : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1977.
Laos
Bibliographie du Laos.
Vientiane, Laos : Edition du Comite litteraire, 1958.
Bulletin des "Amis du Laos".
Societe des amis du Laos. Hanoi, 1937- 1940.
Malaya
- Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
A descriptive dictionary of British Malaya.
London : “LLondon and China Telegraph?Office, 1894.
Daniel, Padma. "A descriptive catalogue of the books relating to Malaysia in the Raffles Museum & Library, Singapore."
Journal of the Malayan Branch, Royal Asiatic Society
, vol.19, pt. 3 (Dec. 1941)
Dennys, N.B. "A contribution to Malayan bibliography."
Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society.
no. 5 (June 1880), pp. 69-123 ; no. 6 (December 1880), pp. 225-272
__________. "Bibliography" in: Dennys, N.B.
A descriptive dictionary of British Malaya.
London : "London and China Telegraph" Office, 1894, pp. 22-49.
Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda.
The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor.
Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)
Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles : a comprehensive bibliography.
Singapore : Singapore Resource Library, National Library Board, 1997.
Turnbull, C.M. "Bibliography of writings in English on British Malaya, 1786-1867."
Journal of the Malayan Branch, Royal Asiatic Society,
vol. 33, pt. 3 (1960) pp. 327-424.
Winstedt, Richard. "Bibliography" in "A History of classical Malay literature."
Journal of the Malayan Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society,
vol. 31, pt. 3 (June 1958) pp. 250-259
Philippines
The Philippine Islands, 1493-1803; explorations by early navigators, descriptions of the islands and their peoples, their history and records of the Catholic missions, as related in contemporaneous books and manuscripts, showing the political, economic, commercial and religious conditions of those islands from their earliest relations with European nations to the beginning of the nineteenthe century; translated from the originals.
Cleveland, O. : The A.H. Clark Company, 1903-09. 55 v.
- Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Cornejo, Miguel R. Cornejo’s Commonwealth directory of the
Philippines
. Manila : Miguel R. Cornejo, 1939.
Encyclopedia of the Philippines.
Manila : Exequiel Floro, 1950-1958. 20 v.
Encyclopedia of the Philippines : the library of Philippine literature, art and science.
Manila, P. Vera, 1935. 10 v.
Dictionary of Philippine Biography.
Quezon City, Filipiniana Publications, 1955-1986. 3 v.
Eminent Filipinos.
Manila : National Historical Commission, 1965.
Tagalog periodical literature.
Bibliography of Philippine Bibliographies.
Quezon City : Ateneo de Manila University, 1968.
Philippine retrospective national bibliography : 1523- 1699.
Manila : National Library of the Philippines, 1974.
Bibliography of the Philippine Islands.
Library of Congress and the Bureau of Insular Affairs, War Department, 1903.
Filipiniana in Madrid : field notes on five major manuscript collections.
Honolulu, HI : Philippine Studies Program, Center for Asia and Pacific Studies, University of Hawaii, 1984.
Houston, Charles, Orville. "Bibliographical Note and Bibliography."
Journal of East Asiatic Studies,
v. 4, no. 2 (April 1955), pp. 173- 244.
________. "A preliminary bibliography of Philippine anthropology, linguistics, ethnology and archeology."
Journal of East Asiatic Studies,
v. 2, no. 2 (Jan. 1953), pp. 55-110.
Philippine Bibliography.
Manila, Philippines : University of Manila, 1960.
Literary index, 1932-1945.
Diliman, Quezon City : The Library, University of the Philippines, 1971.
Martinez de Zuniga, Joaquin.
Estadismo de las Islas Filipinas, o Mis viajes por este pais.
Madrid : M. Minuesa de las Rios, 1893. 2 v.
Bibliografia espanola de las islas Filipinas, 1523- 1810.
Amsterdam : N. Israel, 1966. [Reprint. Originally published: Santiago de Chile, 1897]
La imprenta en Manila : desde sus origenes hasta 1810.
Adiciones y ampliaciones.
Amsterdam : N. Israel, 1964. [Reprint. Originally published: Santiago de Chile, 1896 and 1904]
Pardo de Tavera, T.H. Biblioteca filipina :
o sea Catalogo razonado de todos los impresos, tanto insulares como extranjeros, relativos a la historia, la etnografia, la linguistica, la botanica, la fauna, la flora, la geologia, la hidrografia, la geografia, la legislacion, etc., de las islas Filipinas, de Jolo y Mariana.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1903.
The Philippines during the Japanese regime, 1942-1945 : an annotated list of the literature published in or about the Philippines during the Japanese occupation.
Aparato bibliografico de al histoira general de Filipinas : deducido de la coleccion que posee en Barcelona la Comania General de Tabacos de dichas islas.
Archivo del bibliofilo filipino : recopilacion de documentos historicos, cientificos, literarios y politicos, y estudios bibliograficos.
Bibliografia de Mindanao (epitome).
Robertson, James Alexander.
Bibliography of the Philippine islands, printed and manuscript, preceded by a descriptive account of the most important archives and collections containing Philippina.
Cleveland : Arthur H. Clark, 1908 [Reprint : 1970]
Bibliografia descriptiva y critica de libros filipinos de don Antonio Graino.
Manila : Instituto Nacional de Historia, 1976.
Mindanao-Sulu bibliography : containing published, unpublished manuscripts, and works-in-progress : a preliminary survey ; and W.E. Retana’s Bibliografia de Mindanao (1894).
Davao City : Ateneo de Davao, 1970.
A Catalog of Filipiniana at Valladolid.
Quezon City : Ateneo de Manila University Press, 1973].
Wickberg, E. B. "Spanish records in the Philippine National Archives."
American Historical Review
Manila Camagay, Maria Luisa T.
Social history of Manila, 1765-1898 : an annotated bibliography.
Bulletin of the American Historical Collection.
Manila : American Association of the Philippines, 1972-
Thailand
Graham, Walter Armstrong.
Siam.
London : A. Moring Ltd., 1924. (2 v.)
Graham, Walter Armstrong. "Bibliography." In
Siam.
London : A. Moring Ltd., 1924. v. 1, pp. 289-304.
Bibliography of Thai Studies.
Tokyo : Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Institute of Foreign Affairs, 1957.
Landon, Kenneth Perry. "Bibliography." In
Siam in transition; a brief survey of cultural trends in the five years since the revolution of 1932.
Chicago, Ill., Distributed by the University of Chicago press; Shanghai, Kelly, ltd., 1939, pp. 237-247.
Satow, E.M. "Essay towards a bibliography of Siam."
Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society.
no. 17 (June 1886), pp. 1-85 ; no. 18 (December 1886), pp. 161-189.
Schweisguth, P. "Bibliographie sommaire de la litterature siamoise." In
Etude sur la litterature siamoise.
Paris : Imprimerie Nationale Librairie d’Amerique et d’Orient, Adrien Maisonneuve, 1951.
Thompson, Virginia McLean. "Bibliography." In
Thailand, the new Siam.
New York, Macmillan, 1941, pp. 807-830.
Vietnam (see also Indochina)
L’Indochine moderne; encycolpédie administrative, touristique, artistique et économique.
Paris : Librairie de France, 1932.
Bibliographie annamite.
Paris : Ministere de la Marine et des Colonies, 1866. [Detached from: Revue maritime et coloniale, v. 16 (Feb. 1866), v. 17 (May 1866) and v. 18 (Aug. 1866)]
Bellecombe, Andre Ursule Casse de. "Bibliographie annamique." In Cortambert, E.
Tableau de la Cochinchine.
Paris : A. Le Chevalier, 1862. pp. 335-343.
d’Ufford, J.K.W. Quarles. “La Cochinchine : litterature concernant ce pays.?Annales de l’Extreme-orient. No. 1 (1878), pp. 311-319.
Finot, Louis. "Publications relatives a l’Indochine."
Journal asiatique
(Sept.-Oct. 1913) pp 425-442.
Bibliographie annamite.
Paris : Impr. nationale, 1934.
Bibliography on the political and administrative history of Vietnam, 1802-1962.
Saigon : Michigan State University, Vietnam Advisory Group, 1962. [Note: Re-published in 1980 under the title: Vietnam, an annotated bibliography]
Excursions et reconnaissances.
Cochin China. Saigon, 1879-1890.
Nam phong.
Index analytique du Nam phong.
Paris : Universite de Paris VII, 1978.
Muc-luc phan-tich tap-chi Nam-Phong, 1917-1934.
Saigon : Bo Van-Hoa Giao-Duc, 1968.
8/98
