f i n d B U S I N E S S : S T A T I S T I C S
| This guide focuses on library databases, but also includes some free internet resources. The guide highlights the main resources; it does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for finding business statistics. |
Featured Library Databases for Business Statistics
- Global Development FinanceExternal debt and financial flow data for 128 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. Time series for 200 indicators run from 1970 to current, with contractual obligations data out seven years. External debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt projections.
- Government Finance Statistics (GFS Online)IMF time series data on revenue, expenses, and transactions in assets and liabilities for all levels of government. Includes deficit/surplus, total financing, revenues, expenditures, domestic financing, foreign financing and debt. 137 countries from 1990 to present.
- IBISWorld (U.S., Global and China Industry Market Reports)UH Manoa Library subscription includes the Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, Global Industry Reports, and China Industry Market Reports. Identifies business operating risks and opportunities within 700 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. Reports include supply chain information, forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, competitive landscape, market share for major companies, and industry benchmarks. U.S. reports are fully updated three times per year on average.
- International Financial Statistics Online1948-present. Current and historical financial and economic data for IMF member countries. Time series data from 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- OECD iLibrary(Formerly SourceOECD) Publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightEasy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes records from Statistical Reference Index (SRI, 1980-present) and Index to International Statistics (IIS, 1983-present). Many available in PDF or fulltext in the Library's SRI Microfiche Collection (microfiche S50003).
- SimplyMap Mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Includes consumer behavior data from Experian Simmons (60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands.)
- UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)Official source for imports, exports, re-imports and re-exports for 90% of world trade. Data for over 140 reporter countries detailed by commodity and partner country.
- UNData"...find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism."
- World Development Indicators Online1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Updated monthly. Export to Excel and CSV.
Additional Resources for Business Statistics
- Business & Industry, U.S. Census Bureau
Includes Economic Census, Economic Indicators, Retail Trade, International Trade, and much more.
- EconData
Links to more than 500 sources of U.S. regional, state, and local socioeconomic data. - Economic Census Data
"Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level."
- FedStats
"...provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
- FRED: an Economic Time Series Database
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Historical statistics complementing FRED
- Retail Trade Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau. Annual Retail Trade Survey.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
GDP, National Accounts, Industry Data, International Trade and Investment Data, Regional Estimates, Survey of Current Business.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
"...principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics."
Library Contact
David Flynn
UHM Librarian for Business, Economics
and Travel Industry Management
david.flynn@hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2621
Business Research Guides
Economics Guide
Travel Industry Management Guide
New UHM Library discovery tool
- OneSearchOneSearch is a web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.


Loading...
