Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Selected Websites

Associations, Organizations, Centers

The Congress on Research in Dance Provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops. CORD encourages research in all aspects of dance and related fields and promotes the accessibility of research materials.
Dance Films Association Produces the annual Dance on Camera Festival (tours nationally and internationally) and the Dance on Camera Journal. urthering the art of dance film. Connects artists and organizations, fostering new works for new audiences, and sharing essential resources. DFA seeks to be a catalyst for innovation in and preservation of dance on camera.
Dance Notation Bureau The DNB's mission is to advance the art of dance through the use of a system of symbols to notate movement called Labanotation.
Society of Dance History Scholars (SDHS) Advances the field of dance studies through research, publication, performance, and outreach. Under the Resources heading are links for various genres and historical periods, dance companies, discussion lists, organizations, periodicals, website portals, genres, and special topics.

Selected Websites

A selection of scholarly and professional resources.

An American Ballroom Companion Dance Instruction Manuals ca. 1490-1920 An American Ballroom Companion presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories. Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance.
Artslynx International Dance Resources Dance Links, Ballet Links, and other resources organized into accessible link libraries. Links are reviewed and selected by the Artslynx Editor.
CriticalDance www.criticaldance.com and www.ballet-dance.com are hosted, maintained, moderated and published by CriticalDance, an international non-profit entity founded for the purpose of promoting and supporting the dance arts, including dance arts professionals, organizations, companies, presenters, writers and audiences.
CyberDance - Ballet on the Net Several thousand links to classical ballet and modern dance resources on the Internet. Organized by companies, colleges, schools, international, news and information, people and organizations, goods and services, and dance links on the web.

Public Websites

A sample of digital collections featuring film and images.

Chamber Dance Company Archive
University of Washington Department of Dance Archive

Dance Heritage Video Archive at USC

The collection preserves culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form.

Jacob's Pillow - Dance Interactive

New online video archives showcasing performances from America's longest-running international dance festival

Katherine Dunham Collection
Consists of moving image materials that document the extraordinary journey of a woman who changed the face of American modern dance. Selected materials, including videos of dance technique and fieldwork, are available via this Web presentation.

Numeridanse

Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here Limit results by text, images or videos.

NYPL Jermone Robbins Dance Division
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. The Digital Gallery contains some 4,814 items from the collection including programs from the American tour of the Ballets Russes, Joffrey Ballet slides, and prints depicting dance.
Siobhan Davies Archive
This is the first online dance archive in the UK and contains thousands of fully searchable digital records including moving image, still image, audio and text.
Movement Research: Critical Correspondence
Critical Correspondence provides a forum for diverse engagements with artistic practice, research, and the contexts that surround the field of dance. It publishes timely and in-depth content in multiple formats, including interviews, experimental and scholarly writing, podcasts and video projects.