Business Databases, A
- ABI/INFORM Global1923-present. More than 1,920 titles available in full text. In-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fulltext of The Wall Street Journal.
- Advertising Redbooks.comDetailed information about domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers. Contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Detailed profiles of nearly 14,000 U.S. and international agencies, including accounts represented by each agency and fields of specialization.
- AICPA (via RIA Checkpoint)Professional Standards, including: U.S. Auditing Standards, Attestation Standards, Code of Professional Conduct. Technical Practice Aids, including: Statements of Position, Practice Bulletins. Audit and Accounting Guides. Other Audit Risk Alerts.
- American Factfinder(U.S. Census Bureau) Free web access. Population, housing, economic and geographic data. Includes data sets from the Decennial Census of Housing and Population (1990 and 2000), Economic Census (1997, 2002, 2007 partial), American Community Survey (1996-present), and Population Estimates Program (July 1, 2003-present).
- Asian Business and ReferenceProQuest. 1971-present. Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.
Business Databases, B
- Business Knowledge Research(Conference Board Online) 1998-present. Full-text of management and economic research. Covers corporate citizenship and sustainability, corporate governance, economics, enterprise risk management, ethics and compliance, executive compensation, human resources, and strategic management and planning.
- Business Source Premier1922-present. Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Business Databases, C
- CAB Abstracts1973-present. Although the focus of this database is agricultural and biological information, it is useful for articles on rural tourism development and world agricultural economics.
- Corporate Affiliations.com1976-present. "...provides current, accurate corporate linkage information and company profiles on nearly 200,000 of the most prominent global public and private parent companies and their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions -- down to the seventh level of corporate linkage." Includes corporate family trees, 700,000 corporate contacts, 110,000 board members, 150,000 brand names, 140,000 competitors, and merger/acquisition/out-of-business information back to 1976.
- CQ Researcher1991-present. In-depth reports released weekly covering "hot topics." Business section includes reports on advertising, financial crisis, consumer behavior, economic development, etc.
Business Databases, D
- Dissertations and ThesesIncludes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and masters work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.
Business Databases, E
- ebraryOnline access to more than 49,000 books in business & economics; career & general education; computers, engineering & applied sciences; humanities; science, medicine, & allied health; and social & behavioral sciences.
- EconLit1969-present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, reviews, working papers, collective volume articles and dissertations.
- EDGAR(Securities and Exchange Commission) Free Web access. New interface and enhanced functionality for search EDGAR filings. All publicly-traded companies in the U.S. are required to file annual reports, quarterly reports, proxy statements, and other disclosure documents.
- EIU Online1996-present. Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) publications analyzing and forecasting the economic, political and business environments of almost 200 countries. Includes: Country Reports, Country Commerce (business and trade regulations), Country Finance (taxation and investment), ViewsWire, Premium Country Access for China, Global Forecasting Service.
- Emerald1989-present. Covers the major management disciplines including, marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information management, quality and operations management. Coverage also includes accounting, education, science & technology, healthcare, and communications.
- eStatement StudiesIncludes two RMA publications: Financial Ratios Benchmarks and Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. Covers more than 750 industries using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. Data derived directly from financial statements includes 19 classic financial statement ratios.
Business Databases, F
- FASB Codification (via RIA Checkpoint)Current codified standards, plus wide range of prior FASB materials.
- FedBizOpps / Commerce Business DailyNotices of proposed government procurement actions, contract awards, sales of government property, and other procurement information over $25,000.
- Films on DemandStreaming access to educational videos in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, business, and health.
Business Databases, G
- Global Development FinanceExternal debt and financial flow data for 128 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. Time series for 200 indicators run from 1970 to current, with contractual obligations data out seven years. External debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt projections.
- Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. More information on using Google Scholar
- Government Finance StatisticsIMF time series data on revenue, expenses, and transactions in assets and liabilities for all levels of government. Includes deficit/surplus, total financing, revenues, expenditures, domestic financing, foreign financing and debt. 137 countries from 1990 to present.
Business Databases, H
- Hawaii Newspaper Index1989-present. Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1989 to present. The Index is a service of the Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS). The Hawaii Newspaper Index can be searched by subject or by keyword(s).
- Hawaii Pacific Journal IndexProvides citations to articles in over 50 Hawaii or Pacific-focused serials including Hawaii Business, Island Business, Midweek, Guam Business News, Islands Business (Fiji) and Pacific Islands Monthly.
- Hawaii Voyager Library CatalogSearch for books, journal titles, videos, music, etc., available via University of Hawaii.
- Honolulu Star-Advertiser IndexSearchable index to full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and its former titles, the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin.
- Hospitality & Tourism Index1965-present. Bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Nearly 650 publications. Coverage includes demographics and statistics, food and beverage management, hotel management and administration, leisure and business travel, market trends, and more.
Business Databases, I
- International Financial Statistics1948-present. Current and historical financial and economic data for IMF member countries. Time series data from 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- IBISWorldUH Manoa Library subscription includes the Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, Global Industry Reports, and China Industry Market Reports. Identifies business operating risks and opportunities within 700 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. Reports include supply chain information, forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, competitive landscape, market share for major companies, and industry benchmarks. U.S. reports are fully updated three times per year on average.
Business Databases, J
- JSTORProvides full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. The JSTOR project's primary goal is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Business Databases, L
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. 350 full-text newspapers from around the world. Information on 35 million public and private companies. Transcripts from major television and radio networks, as well as news wires and polling services. Current plus 25 years of backfiles.
Business Databases, M
- Marketresearch.comMarket research reports for consumer goods, food and beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, technology, and more. Sources include Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, Simba Information and Specialists in Business Information (SBI). Full reports (many 200-400 pages) are available after 12-month embargo.
- Mergent Online Comprehensive global company financials database with custom reporting features.
- Mintel Oxygen Detailed market research reports for personal care products, drinks, food, leisure & entertainment, retailing, technology, and more. Reports focus on US and UK, and include proprietary data and analysis of consumer attitudes and behaviors, market characteristics and segmentation, brand market share, and much more. Also available are detailed country and analyst reports for travel and tourism.
- MorningstarMorningstar Investment Research Center gives faculty, staff, and students access to daily updates on more than 30,000 mutual funds, stocks, closed end funds and exchange traded funds. It also includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, all 3,500 fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and 150 investment classes.
Business Databases, N
- NBER Working Papers(National Bureau of Economic Research) 1973-present. Provides full-text of this research organization's working papers and chapters of its forthcoming books in PDF files. Includes searchable index.
- Newspaper Source PlusIncludes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Features nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News CBS News, CNBC, CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more.
- NetAdvantage, Standard & Poor'sComprehensive source of business and investment information. Includes Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports, Compustat Excel Analytics, Security Dealers, and more. Extensive financials and analysis on more than 10,000 public companies. Basic data for 85,000 private companies.
Business Databases, O
- Oxford Reference OnlineEconomics & Business section includes Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Business and Management, Dictionary of Economics, Dictionary of Finance and Banking, Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms, and Dictionary of Statistics.
- OECD iLibrary(Formerly SourceOECD) Publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
- OneSearchOneSearch is a web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
Business Databases, P
- PAIS International(Public Affairs Information Services) 1972-present. A selective index to the latest books, pamphlets, government publications, reports of public and private agencies and journal articles relating to business, economic and social conditions, public administration and international relations published throughout the world.
- Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image DatabaseUnited States Patent and Trademark Office. Full text of all patents granted since 1976, and the patent number, issue date, and current US classification for all patents granted from 1790 through 1975. Also includes patent application database.
- Project Muse1993-present. Selected full text of 400 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
- ProQuest Asian Business and Reference1971-present. Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightEasy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes records from Statistical Reference Index (SRI, 1980-present) and Index to International Statistics (IIS, 1983-present). Many available in PDF or fulltext in the Library's SRI Microfiche Collection (microfiche S50003).
- PsycINFO1887-present. Comprehensive database of literature in psychology and related disciplines. Business topics include human resources, marketing, consumer behavior. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations from 1887 to the present.
Business Databases, R
- Recent Advances in ManufacturingDatabase of over 14 million businesses allows you to search with 27 unique data elements. Searchable by geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc.
- ReferenceUSADatabase of over 14 million businesses allows you to search with 27 unique data elements. Searchable by geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc.
- Regional Business News1965-present. Business wires from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network, and Phillips Business Information Highlights.
- RIA CheckpointComprehensive tax information and research. Includes FASB Codification, IASB International Financial Reporting Standards, AICPA Professional Library, complete federal and state tax sources; expert analysis, practitioner insights, tax-related news, cases, rulings and more.
Business Databases, S
- Science DirectOver 1,200 peer reviewed academic journals. Search over 30 million abstracts from scientific articles and link out to articles from over 80 other publishers. Includes subject groupings for business, management and accounting, as well as economics, econometrics, and finance.
- SimplyMap Web-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Includes consumer behavior data from Experian Simmons (60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands.)
- Small Business Reference Center"...comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs."
- Social Sciences Citation Index(via Web of Science) 1980-present. Multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
- SpringerLinkAccess the complete contents of more than 650 Springer (formerly Kluwer) journals in subjects including business administration, economics, operations research/management science, technology, and law.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageComprehensive source of business and investment information. Includes Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports, Compustat Excel Analytics, Security Dealers, and more. Extensive financials and analysis on more than 10,000 public companies. Basic data for 85,000 private companies.
Business Databases, T
- ThomasNet(Free web version of Thomas Register) Directory of manufacturers, suppliers, industrial products/services in U.S. and Canada. Some product catalogs and CAD available.
Business Databases, U
- UN ComtradeUnited Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Official source for imports, exports, re-imports and re-exports for 90% of world trade. Data for over 140 reporter countries detailed by commodity and partner country.
- UNData"...find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism."
Business Databases, W
- Wiley InterScienceFull text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals. Includes subject area for Business.
- World Development Indicators1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Updated monthly. Export to Excel and CSV.
- WorldCatOCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Library Contact
David Flynn
UHM Librarian for Business, Economics
and Travel Industry Management
david.flynn@hawaii.edu
(808) 956-2621
Business Research Guides
Economics Guide
Travel Industry Management Guide

Loading...
