This is the "Home" page of the "Education Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Education Research Guide   Tags: education  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/education Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Education Research


Use this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for your research in education. The guide focuses on online resources, but also includes selected print titles. This guide highlights the main resources; it does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for education research. For additional resources, visit other relevant library guides, search the library's online catalog, or consult with Susan Johnson, UHM Social Sciences Librarian.

Featured Databases for Education

Read this first.  Use the suggested article databases to search for journal articles by subject. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

See More Databases for Education for additional resources.

  • ERIC (EBSCOHOST search interface)  
      
    The national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
    See also ERIC via DOE .

    ERIC descriptors that may be of use as you conduct a literature review on a subject include:

    Bibliographies | Literature Reviews | Meta Analysis

    Find research studies using a specific method of inquiry, as well as studies of the research method itself. For example, you may use any of the following descriptors to locate materials related to a specific research method:

    Case Studies | Ethnography | Field Studies | Focus Groups | Interviews
    Participant Observation | Qualitative Research
  • Ed/ITLib Digital Library
    The digital library from the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) includes international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
  • Professional Development Collection
    A highly specialized collection of nearly 450 full text journals, designed for professional educators.

    Or choose from the following multi-subject databases.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
    Watch a tutorial.
  • Google Scholar
    Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
  • Web of Science
    A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.

    Getting the Most Out of Web of Science by Sara Rutter
  • OneSearch Manoa
    "Find millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search."

    See our Guide to OneSearch Manoa for more information about this search engine.

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has to that journal, search for the journal name. Start with:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip