Research Guides: ENG 463: Postcolonial Narrative Cinema: Library Research Resources

Research Databases

International Movie Database

International Movie Database (imdb.com)
A free online resource for finding out basic information about films (title, director, production company, release year, etc.). This link will guide you to browse films by country.

Subject-Specific Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
Film & Television Literature Index
Film and Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
Content from more than 130 international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Multi-Subject Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Request books, films, and articles not available through UH Mānoa.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema by Ashish Rajadhyaksha (Editor); Paul Willemen (Editor)
Call Number: Hamilton Reference PN1993.5.I8 R277 1999
ISBN: 085170669X
Publication Date: 1999-06-26
Covering the full range of Indian cinema, from Hindi musicals to the impressive diversity of regional Indian Art Cinemas, this edition of the reference text includes expanded coverage of mainstream productions from the 1970s to the 1990s.
Blacks in Film and Television by John Gray (Compiled by); John Gray
Call Number: Hamilton Reference PN1993.5.A35 G73
ISBN: 031327486X
Publication Date: 1990-09-11
This is a comprehensive guide to the black experience both on film and behind the camera. More than 6,000 entries documenting global film activity from 1919 to 1990 offer historical perspective on the black image in film, bibliographical material on filmmakers and individual artists, and exciting information on newly emerging talent throughout the world. Drawing on a wide variety of resource materials, the study furnishes extensive coverage of developments in filmmaking in Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, Europe, and the Caribbean, followed by a thorough examination of the African-American film experience. Two appendixes provide supplementary data on reference works, and names and addresses of notable film resource centers. Four indexes keyed by artist, title, subject, and author complete the work, which proves to be a valuable reference work for scholars and historians in the field of blacks in film.
Directory of African Film-Makers and Films by Keith Shiri (Editor)
Call Number: Hamilton Reference PN1993.5.A35 S48 1992
ISBN: 0313287562
Publication Date: 1992-10-30
The richness and color of African cinema have been neglected for too long and its many talented film-makers deserve full recognition. This new and unique book gives detailed information on over 300 major African and Arab film-makers from the main film-producing countries: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Madagascar, Mali, Senegal, Somalia, Tanzania, Tunisia, and Zaire. It also includes important film directors from Southern African states--Angola, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and others--as well as from other African republics. Each entry gives details of the film-maker's career and a complete list of films made. Two extensive indexes arrange film-makers by country and list some 5,000 film titles, in both the original language and English. An important addition is the chronology of African cinema, giving a bold summary of its growth over the last thirty years.

Related Research Guides

English Language and Literature
by Sarah Nakashima Last Updated Aug 25, 2023 276 views this year
Film Research Guide
by David Brier Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 93 views this year
South Asia Collection Resources
by Monica Ghosh Last Updated Apr 14, 2023 83 views this year

Sarah Nakashima

Email Me

Requesting Films

To obtain a book, DVD, CD or other item in the library, you must request the item online. What this means is:

Use the Hawai'i Voyager Catalog to find the item.
Click on the "Get This Item" link.
Log in.
Click "Hold or transfer this item".
Choose your pickup location, enter your UH number again, and any necessary details.
Click "Submit Request".
Go to Sinclair Library 3rd floor (Wong AV Center) to pick up your item(s).
If you chose a different location, wait to be notified of it's availability.

REMINDERS:

All requested items will be held at the center for three business days. A valid UH ID card is required to pick up an item.
The standard loan period for audiovisual media for UH students is 7 days, with the possibility of 1 renewal.
If you don't have a DVD or VHS player, you can use the equipment at the Wong AV Center.
Some items held by other campuses cannot be requested.

Subject Headings

Subject headings are standardized terms used to describe materials in library catalogs. Use them for more precise and targeted searching and to cross-reference items in the catalog.

Here are some examples. Enter them into the Subject tab in the Voyager catalog to browse related terms and items categorized under that heading. Using Advanced Search, try combining a subject search with an additional keyword.

Motion pictures--India
Motion pictures--India--History and criticism
Motion pictures--India--History and criticism
Motion pictures--Africa
Motion pictures--Africa--History and criticism.
Motion pictures and globalization.
Feature films -- India
Feature films -- Algeria
Feature films-- South Africa

Concept Mapping Tool

MindMup
A web-based concept mapping tool to visualize your research question. The basic version is free.