University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

GG 711 Planetary Interiors: Home

Welcome GG 711 - Experimental Simulation of Earth's and Planetary Interiors!
This library research guide will assist you with:

  • Resources for writing science literature reviews
  • Accessing information through UHM Library
  • Corralling your research using Citation Management Tools

Literature review tips and resources

Help with writing literature reviews

Useful literature review tutorials and web sites
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
- tutorial from North Carolina State University
The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It - University of Toronto


Image Credit: the.Firebottle
  • Try not to over "quote." Use quotes to highlight a particular passage or thought that exemplifies the research, theory or topic. Quotes should not stand alone. Add your analysis of the topic and bring your original thinking alongside any quoted material.
  • Paraphrase to report, in your own words, what the author was reporting or theorizing.
  • Summarize findings, important sections or a whole article by concisely identifying the main points.
  • Synthesize your findings for the literature review (put the ideas together in your head by making comparisons, pointing out relationships between authors' works, identifying weaknesses, strengths and gaps). You still need to give credit to these sources.

Tips on paraphrasing, quoting and synthesis
Paraphrasing and Quoting
- The Writing Center at University of Wisconsin Mandison
Paraphrase: Write it in Your Own Words - OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab
Introduction to Synthesis - Michigan State University
Literature Review: Synthesizing Multiple Sources - Indiana University

Accessing Information

Access scholarly research through UHM's Database links.

Subject databases:
GeoRef
GeoBase
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar
Web of Science

Interdisciplinary databases:
Academic Search Complete
JSTOR - particularly good for historical science information

Now see what you need listed here? Try: Sci-Tech Databases A-Z


Hawaii Voyager  (Library Catalog Search) |  Voyager Search Guide  (pdf printable sheet)

Use Hawaii Voyager to find print and electronic books, journals, videos, and more in the UH System libraries.

Use the Get This Item link in the upper right side of the item record to reserve an item within the UH library system.

 

OneSearch Manoa (Includes Voyager Catalog, journals, papers, maps, government documents, etc.)

Use with caution! Sign in to OneSearch Manoa before using to ensure you are able to access all journal articles UHM has access to. Also note that OneSearch Manoa does not search all of UHM's databases and indexes

Citation Management Tools

Which citation manager is right for you?

EndNote Basic is an online citation manager free to all students, faculty, and staff. EndNote Basic user guide

EndNote is a robust citation manager students, faculty and staff can buy for their desktop. (See purchase options below.) EndNote user guide


 
Mendeley is free, available online or for your desktop and is mobile friendly. Mendeley user guide

Zotero is an open source, free to use and available online or on your desktop. Zotero user guide

For more comparative information on these citation tools, check out University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries Citation Manager Chart.

EndNote purchasing options:

Your Librarian

Myra Waddell's picture
Myra Waddell
Contact:
Science & Technology Reference Department
Hamilton Library
5220 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96822

Office hours: Anytime with or without an appointment

waddellm@hawaii.edu
808.956.2544

Interlibrary loan

What should I do if I can't find full text?
Get full text articles you need via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

UHM Interlibary Loan Requests

Header photo courtesy of Pixabay where all images are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.