University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

HIST 678 - Research in Hawaiian Language Archives: Home

Hours

FALL 2014
August 25 - December 19

Reading Room and Reference Desk
MON-FRI: 9:00am-5:00pm
SATURDAY: closed
SUNDAY: 1:00-5:00pm

Circulation Desk
MON-FRI: 9:00-5:00pm
SATURDAY: closed
SUNDAY: 1:00-5:00pm
PAGING SERVICE STOPS AT 4:45.

All Library Hours

About Us

Aloha Mai Kakou!

This guide was created to help graduate students in History 678: Research in Hawaiian Language Archives locate Hawaiian Language primary sources held in the Hawaiian Collection and online from 1790-1900 dealing with Hawaiian poltiics, governance, and law. 

At the UHM Library, you have access to the Hawaiian Collection and the Pacific Collection, located on the fifth floor of Hamilton Library (in the older part of the building).

Some of our materials might be available online, but most of it is held only in paper, in our library. This guide will help you figure out how to find what you need.

And you are always welcome to visit us to discuss your research project. Librarians are avaialable to help you at the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reference desk.

Archives and Gov Docs - What's the Difference?

Defining the term "archives"

"Archives" refers to the working and operational files of an institution. For example, Privacy council minutes would be the kinds of files that end up in an archive.

The term "archive" also refers to the repository which holds these files. So, archives are held in an archive. And, an archive might also hold other types of materials, such as manuscript collections, collections of personal papers, and regular library books too.

Defining the term "government documents"

Government documents are the publications of a government. They are prepared edited documents meant for public dissemination. For example, annual and individual reports of government agencies are considered to be publications

Hawai'i Specialist Librarian

Kapena Shim's picture
Kapena Shim
Contact:
Hawaiian Collection, Hamilton Library

Fifth Floor, Office 508
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu. HI 96822
808-956-9296
kapena@hawaii.edu
Subjects:Hawaii

Hawaii Specialist Librarian

Jodie Mattos's picture
Jodie Mattos
Contact:
Hawaiian Collection, Hamilton Library

Fifth Floor, Office 511
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu. HI 96822
808-956-2851
Subjects:Hawaii