University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content
Banner Image

Marine Sciences: Articles

SOEST

Tips for Using the Databases

All of the following databases allow you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online.

If we do not have the article in an online format search Hawaii Voyager, for print holdings.

If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, click on the link to the interlibrary loan online request form. An Interlibrary Loan Request is a free service to you--the article will be sent to you within a few days as a pdf.

Click on the Find it link in the database records to search UHM collections.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Five indexes of aquatic biology, policy, and books. The indexing has an international scope and is a great source for articles and for harder to find materials (policy papers, book chapters)

  • Biological Abstracts

    A premier index of biological literature from 1926--the online version covers biological journal literature from 1969 to present. Make your search better by using the descriptors and selecting a field such as organism rather than using keyword anywhere.

  • BioOne1 and BioOne2

    A collection of full-text online journals published by scientific societies, strong in conservation and environmental studies.

  • Google Scholar

    Connecting to Google scholar through the library proxyserver will allow you to access full-text articles in our online collection.

  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences

    A collection of full-text online core ecology and science journals that can be searched for literature back to the first issues of key scientific journals such as Ecology, Science, Copeia.

  • Web of Science

    Three indexes/databases Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities. Covers the core scholarly journal literature of all disciplines from 1980 to the present. The most up-to-date of the indexes. Select General Search to search on a topic. You can sort the retrieved papers by the number of citations; this is a good way to find older papers that have contributed to more current research. Select Cited Reference Search to search for papers that cite a particular author or reference

  • Zoological Record

    An index that goes back to 1864--the online version covers zoological literature from 1978 to present. Some overlap with Biological Abstracts, but better coverage of international literature, and articles on insects and birds. Includes coverage of books and meetings that Biological Abstracts does not cover.