This is the "Guide" page of the "MLA Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

MLA Style   Tags: citation, mla  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/mla-style Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Based on MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.).
Location: Hamilton Main Reference, LB2369 .G53 2009

This is a guide to the most frequently used entries.

MLA no longer requires the use of URLs. For instructors who still prefer the inclusion of URLs, MLA
suggests the URL appear in angle brackets after the date of access. Break URLs only after slashes.

Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced.

General reference assistance via email

  
  emailref@hawaii.edu


Call the main reference desk

    (808) 956-7214

 

Examples

Type of Entry

Examples of Works Cited

Book – 1 Author

Frye, Northrop. Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays. Princeton: Princeton UP, 1957. Print.

Book – More than 1 author

Bondanella, Peter, and Julia Conaway Bondanella. Dictionary of Italian Literature. Westport: Greenwood, 1979. Print.

eBook 1 author

Cox, Rebecca D. College Fear Factor: How Students and Professors Misunderstand Each Other. Cambridge: Harvard UP,
       2009. ebrary. Web. 6 Aug. 2012.

Work in an Anthology or Collection of Essays

Lazard, Naomi. “In Answer to Your Query.” The Norton Book of Light Verse. Ed. Russell Baker. New York: Norton,
       1986. 52-53. Print.

Magazine Article in Print
(Anonymous Author)

“Portents for Future Learning.” Time 21 Sept. 1981: 65. Print.

Magazine Article from a
Library Database

Cruz, Gillbert, and Kristi Oloffson. “Driving Us to Distraction.” Time 21 Aug. 2009. Academic Search Premier.
       Web. 10 Oct 2011.

Magazine Article from the
Free Web

Matthews, Owen. “Missile Mystery.” Newsweek. Newsweek, 18 Sept. 2009. Web. 19 Sept. 2009.

Journal Article in Print

Spear, Karen. “Building Cognitive Skills in Basic Writers.” Teaching English in the Two Year College 9.2 (1983): 91-98. Print.

Journal Article from a
Library Database

Richardson, Scott. “Conversation in the Odyssey.” College Literature 34 (2007): 132-149. Academic Search Premier. Web.
       9 July 2007.

Journal Article from the Free Web

Carpenter, Rick. “Boundary Negotiations: Electronic Environments as Interface.” Computers and Composition 26.3 (2009):
       138-148. Web. 9 Aug. 2009.

Newspaper Article in Print

Dalin, Damon. “A $7 Greeting Card? Yes, But Listen to the Melody It Will Play For You.” Wall Street Journal 10 May 1983,
       eastern ed.: 37. Print.

Newspaper Article from a
Library Database

Oremus, Will. “Weather May Be Changing Public Opinion on Global Warming.” Philadelphia Inquirer. 14 July 2012. LexisNexis.
       Web. 10 Aug. 2012.

Newspaper Article from the
Free Web

Liptak, Adam. “A Free Speech Battle Arises From Videos of Fighting Dogs.” New York Times. New York Times, 18 Sept. 2009.
       Web. 19 Sept. 2009.

Article from a Print Encyclopedia

Mercuri, Becky. "Cookies." The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America. Ed. Andrew F. Smith. Vol. 1. 2004. Print.

Article from an Online Encyclopedia

“Racism.” Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition. Encyclopedia Britannica, 2011. Web. 17 July 2011.

Website

Dalseid, Lars. “Record Setting Day for Long Range Files at Perry.” NRAblog.com. National Rifle Association, 13 Aug. 2012. Web.
       13 Aug. 2012.

Government Document – Congressional Hearing

United States. Cong. Senate. Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. Hearing, Combating Distracted Driving:        Managing Behavioral and Technology Risks. 111th Cong., 1st sess. Washington: GPO, 2009. FDsys. Web. 22 Aug. 2012.

Government Document – Congressional Record

Cong. Rec. 27 Sept. 2007: 10944-46. FDsys. Web. 18 Feb. 2011.

Personal E-mail Communication

Danford, Tom. “Re: Conference Agenda.” Message to the author. 13 May 2000. Email.

Personal or Telephone Interview
conducted by the researcher

Blake, Jerome. Personal interview. 18 July 2003.

Blake, Jerome. Telephone interview. 22 July 2004.

Audiovisual Media

Formats vary for citing audiovisual media. Consult section 5.7. of the MLA Handbook for samples of citation formats, including television & radio programs, sound recordings, and film or video recordings.

Electronic Publications

Formats vary for citing materials published electronically. Consult section 5.6. of the MLA Handbook for samples.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip