University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Music Subject Guide: Special Music Collections

Special Music Collections

The Sacred Hearts Collection

This collection of piano ensemble music was donated to the University of Hawai`i by the Music Library of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts Convent in Honolulu, Hawai`i. This collection was gathered from a number of donations to the Sisters from the general public and the French Consulate. The collection is primarily piano music for more than one player and includes music for one piano 3 and 4 hands, two pianos 6 and 8 hands, as well as other piano ensemble combinations.

View an index of the piano scores available as a PDF.


UH Alma Mater

View the score and lyrics of the University of Hawai`i Alma Mater, and listen to a MIDI version. View the pdf printer-friendly UH Alma Mater (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader).


Vera Bryner Russian-Language Sheet Music Collection

This collection was donated to the University of Hawai`i in the Fall of 1989.  The collection was part of a much larger collection belonging to Vera Bryner (sister of Yul Brynner).  The collection is predominantly published music with some hand written copies.  This finding aid provides composer and title indexes.  Bibliographic citations include composer, title, place of publication, publisher, year, physical description, and brief notes.

Hawaii Music

Huapala
Excellent collection of Hawaiian song lyrics. Note that the titles of the songs included here are searchable in Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiian Songs index.

Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index

The Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index contains approximately 1,300 bibliographic records of songs and sheet music about Hawaiʻi. These records identify material located in the Bishop Museum Library, the Hawaiʻi State Library and the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library's Hawaiian Collection. The Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index is now fully integrated into the University of Hawaiʻi Libraries' online catalog Hawaiʻi Voyager. It can be searched separately or as part of the libraries' full catalog.

Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiian Chants: An Index of Published Sources and Audio Recordings
Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiian Songs: An Index of Published Songbooks

Indexes and lists of Hawaiian chants and songs in published and recorded sources. Compiled by Amy Kuʻuleialoha Stillman.