University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

OneSearch Mānoa: FAQ & Help

This guide explains how to use OneSearch Mānoa and describes its content.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here, you can find a general smattering of frequently-asked questions (FAQ) about OneSearch Manoa.

How is OneSearch different from the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog?
OneSearch is a web-scale discovery tool that finds books, articles, maps, audio-visual and more with a single interface. Often times your search results will be very large and have a wide variety of choices. Hawaii Voyager is the UH catalog of books, videos, archives, music, and government documents owned by UH system libraries. Remember also that Hawaii Voyager does not search for articles.

Does OneSearch replace the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog?
OneSearch includes Hawaii Voyager, but certainly doesn't replace it. Depending on your research needs, you may want to search Hawaii Voyager directly. The search functionality is different and the information displayed in most bibliographic records will be different. Remember, OneSearch is a discovery tool.

What is included in the "Everything" search?
The default search choice for "Everything" will search the Library's Hawaii Voyager catalog data, plus a huge index of millions of articles. It also includes the index to the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives, ScholarSpace and eVols. Your results will include books, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, government documents, maps and much more.

How can I reduce the number of results?
OneSearch Manoa is a huge discovery tool and you often will get very large results lists. But, you can use the "facets" on the left side of your results screen to refine your search results.

For more FAQ, visit OneSearch's FAQs page. If you are in need of search help, visit the OneSearch's Online Help page or visit a reference desk during library hours.

Questions About Finding Books

What is included in the "Books +" search?
Books + will search the Library's Hawaii Voyager catalog data, plus the index to the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives, ScholarSpace and eVols.

What if the book I want is not located at a UHM library?
Click on the the Locations link to open a pop-up window.

Image of a locations link

Click on the "Hold or transfer this item" link.

Image of Get It ini the detailed record

Questions About Finding Journal Articles

What is included in the Articles + search?
Articles + will search a massive journal index called Primo Central Index, plus ScholarSpace and eVols. The Primo Central Index is a subscription database of millions of scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, ebooks, and legal documents. Quick full text access is available for millions of academic articles if you are signed in to OneSearch.

Are all of UH Manoa Library's full text articles in OneSearch?
No. OneSearch does not search all of the Library's databases. However, OneSearch is huge and will work well for many assignments. Visit the Library's subject guides for more resources when necessary.

How do I request an item that's not available in full text in OneSearch?
Click on the Image of the "No full-text online" link to open up a new window or web browser tab and click on the link for Interlibrary Loan. UHM Library Interlibrary Loan Service obtains books, journal articles, and other materials for University of Hawaii at Manoa students, faculty, staff, and affiliates when the materials are NOT available at the UH Manoa Libraries. Log in (if you are not already logged in) and complete the request form.

Related Library Guide

Help for Specific Subjects

Need More Help?

Ask Us link

General Reference Assistance via E-mail
emailref@hawaii.edu

Main Reference Desk Telephone
(808) 956-7214