Last Updated: Aug 29, 2010
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, 4th ed. Washington, D.C., CQ Press, 2004. 2 vols.
Vol. 2 includes brief biographies of the justices.
Call number: Government Documents Reference: JU 6.2:SU 76x v.1-2
- Find Books
To find books on Supreme Court justices in the UH Voyager Catalog:
1. In the search box, enter a justice's name.
2. In the "Search By" field make sure that "Keyword" is selected.
3. Click Go.
- Find Government Documents
You can find information on a justice's background in Senate confirmation hearing documents. To access:
1. Perform a search in UH Voyager (link above) using the justice's name and include
GPO or Government Printing Office in the search query.
antonin scalia gpo.
2. Note the call number (some titles may be in the Government Documents Department, located on the ground floor of Hamilton Library.
- Interlibrary Loan
If UH Manoa Library does not own the item you are looking for, use the Interlibrary Loan service.
Request an Interlibrary Loan by using the "Request via ILL" link in a WorldCat record for the book you want.
These online resources will provide biographical information about current U.S. Supreme Court justices. Underneath each link, there are instructions that will tell you how to use each resource. Each database will provide various sources to choose from.
- Official Supreme Court Website
Provides short biographies about current U.S. Supreme Court justices.
To find e-books on Supreme Court justices in the Ebrary portal:
1. Log in to Ebrary.
2. Click on "Advanced Search" next to the "Search Ebrary" button.
3. In the first search box, type in a justice's name in the following format: "justice samuel alito".
4. Under "Focus your search using..." select "Biography"
5. Click "Search Ebrary"
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full text access from various sources including Who's Who in American Law. To access biographical sources about justices:
1. Log in to Lexis Nexis Academic.
2. Under "Research People" (bottom of the page), enter the justice's last and first name in the boxes.
3. In the "Source" menu, make sure that "Biographical Reference" is selected.
4. Click Go.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text access to biographical information in journals, encyclopedias, and news articles.
1. Log in to Academic Search Premier.
2. In the first search box (top left of the screen) type in the justice's first and last name surrounded by quotation marks. For example: "antonin scalia"
3. You may want to add keywords such as "born" or "married" to your search.
4. Under "Limit your results" click on "Full Text"
5. Click Search
- Oxford Reference Online
Provides access to full text articles in Oxford online reference publications, including The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States.
1. Log in to Oxford Reference Online.
2. In the "Quick search" box, (top left) type in the justice's name.
3. Click Go.
Use this resource to find the full text of government documents related to Supreme Court Justices.
- Internet Public Library
Provides full text access to biographical information.
1. In the search box, type the justice's first and last name.
2. Click "Search IPL2".
- Cornell University Law School
Provides basic biographies of Supreme Court Justices and a summary of recent decisions.
Provides basic biographical information.
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu HI 96822