Home - Government Documents - Department of Labor - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Contact the Department of Labor

DOL telephone numbers and email addresses

The Bureau of Labor was established within the Department of the Interior in 1884. The Cabinet-level Department of Commerce and Labor was established in 1903. In 1913, the Department of Labor (DOL) was established as a separate Cabinet-level agency. Its mission is "To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights."

The U.S. Department of Labor Bicentennial history of the American worker by Richard B. Morris
Call Number: GOVD L 1.2:Am 3/4
Publication Date: 1976
The anvil and the plow : a history of the United States Department of Labor by William Bauchop Wilson
Call Number: GOVD L 1.2:An 9
Publication Date: 1963

National Archives - Department of Labor
The National Archives maintains the records of the Department of Labor from 1907 to 1996.
O*NET
Occupational information that describes what people do in specific occupations, employment prospects, average wages, and other information.
General Wage Determinations Issued Under the Davis-Bacon and Related Acts

Government Documents holds an extensive collection of Department of Labor publications, including the following series, which are available in print or in the HathiTrust Digital Library:

Older Department of Labor documents are available in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM login required).

Additional documents covering 1910-1932 are available in the Executive Branch Documents microfiche set.

We also have a variety of general publications, pamphlets, and other Labor materials, as well as Congressional hearings, documents, and reports about labor in the U.S. Please contact a government documents librarian if you have questions about our holdings.

Please refer to the Bureau of Labor Statistics page.

Occupational Employment Statistics: Online Data about Occupations from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This webinar explores the Occupational Employment Statistics program from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, which produces wage and salary estimates annually for about 800 occupations. Estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas as classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. In addition, attendees will learn how to use the online Standard Occupational Classification Manual (SOC), published by the Office of Management & Budget, in consultation with the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook: Information on hundreds of occupations in the United States
"The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the majority of jobs in the United States. In this presentation, Domingo Angeles covers what data and information are in the occupational profiles of the OOH. He also provides tips for using available resources in the OOH such as the Occupation Finder and Industry-Occupation tables."
Making the Most of Workplace Retirement and Health Plans
This webinar introduces you to the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA) – the agency responsible for administering the Federal law governing workplace retirement and health plans provided by private sector employers. This includes many well-known laws including ERISA, COBRA, and HIPAA.
DOL YouTube Channel

Subject Guide