- OneSearch Manoa
"Find millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search."
See OneSearch Manoa Help
to learn more about using this search engine.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Use the Full-Text @ UH Manoa link that may appear to the right of the article information to get to the full text of the articles.
- Web of Science
From Thomson Reuters.
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
See our Guide to Web of Science
for more information about this search engine.Or choose from smaller databases that focus on the social work/social services literature.
- Social Work Abstracts
Provides abstracts and access to full text articles spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Register of Clinical Social Workers database contains listing of registered social workers, including their address and phone numbers, education and specialization, type of practice and license information.
Four simultaneous users only.
- Social Services Abstracts
Provides abstracts and access to full text articles focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development, with coverage back to 1980.
Or choose from databases that index literature from related disciplines.
- PAIS International
An index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. It has references and in some cases abstracts of articles from over 3,660 journal titles, books, gray literature, internet material, conference proceedings, government and ngo documents and statistical publications.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is an index with abstracts to the literature of sociology from 2,700 journals and other serials, books, dissertations, and conference papers published worldwide. Coverage is from 1963 and includes all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies.
Databases useful for the behavioral/mental health concentration.
- CINAHL with full text
Full text for more than 580 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
- PubMed Medline (with full-text links)
From the National Library of Medicine.
Includes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- PsycInfo (American Psychological Association)
Provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles, chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
- Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.