University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA): Basic Search

Basic Search

Image is a search box for ASFA.
Basic Search searches ALL of its indexed fields for records with ALL terms entered.

You can use Boolean operators, quotation marks, and truncation and wildcard characters in Basic Search.

You can limit your results to records in peer-reviewed journalsby clicking on the Peer reviewed box.

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators link concepts and are used to broaden or narrow your search. Briefly, here's how they work:

AND - finds results with your all search terms.  AND narrows your search so that you retrieve fewer articles.

OR - finds results with any of your search terms.  OR broadens your search so that you retrieve more articles.

NOT - finds results without the specified search terms.  NOT narrows your search but it can be tricky to use.

By default, ASFA assumes an AND relationship between your search terms.

Take a look at the Boolean Operators guide for more detailed information about how to use this valuable search technique.

Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article

Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.

Click on the Find it icon link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.

If we do not have access to the article in an online format (No Full Text available), use the Hawaii Voyager link to see if we have it available in print.

If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, select Request document via Interlibrary Loan to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a pdf.

Phrase Searching

Sometimes you will want to search for a specific phrase rather than searching for individual, single words and combining them with the Boolean Operator AND.

When you do a phrase search, the record will have to contain all of the words, in the order you specify, and right next to each other.

To specify a phrase search, simply enclose the phrase in quotation marks. For example:

"sustainable fisheries"

Doing a phrase search results in fewer, generally more relevant, results. These are examples from ASFA:

sustainable fisheries retrieves 29,806 records

"sustainable fisheries" retrieves 1,274 records

Phrases and single words can be searched in combination, and will be linked with AND, as in this example.

"sustainable fisheries" tuna "longline fishing"

Need More Help?

E-mail Sci/Tech: sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263