University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Botany 101: Information literacy introduction: Bibliographic Management Tools

Using Endnote

Endnote is an application that imports citations from your searches in web databases and helps you organize your references. It works with Microsoft Word helping you create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies. There is also a version of Endnote on the web called Endnote Basic.

  • Using Endnote at UH Manoa

    A webpage devoted to Endnote usage at UH Manoa, created and updated by Science & Technology librarians.

  • Endnote Basic (web-based; login with UH name and password, then create a personal account in Endnote Basic). See the Library Guide on using the web version of Endnote at Endnote Basic

Exporting References and Importing Them into EndNote

Steps to export references from SciFinder Scholar and import them into EndNote:

  1. Click the check box(es) next to the references that you want to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click on Export (on the right side of the the gray header the search results).

    Select SciFinder citation, Click Export

  3. Three columns appear in the Export manager window:
    1. Under Export, select what to export. Use "Selected" if you have checked off any references in the answer set.
    2. Under For: Citation Manager select Citation export format (*.ris)
    3. Under Detail, accept the default name (rename it if you are going to save, not export directly into EndNote)
  4. Click on Export.
     
    Export Manager window

  5. Select Open with ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (default) (if using FireFox browser, see image below) or Open (if using IE).
  6. Click on OK.

    Opening Reference window

  7. Citations will automatically be imported into whatever EndNote library is open.

    NOTE: If EndNote is NOT open, the references will automatically be imported into the EndNote library that was last open. If you have mutliple EndNote libraries, open the library you want before exporting the references.

Open Source Bibliographic Management Tools

Zotero, a FireFox plugin, allows you to import citations directly from web-based indexes and webpages. You can also store documents (pdfs of articles downloaded) in your Zotero folder, usually located on your hard drive. Zotero works with Word and OpenOffice to generate citations in your document.

Mendeley a user friendly bibliographic management tool. You can export your citations from Mendeley as Endnote XML, then import into Endnote using the XML filter. To transfer the documents you've save in Mendeley, simply transfer the saved files in your Mendeley My Collection folder to the Endnote Data folder (into the pdf folder) --your citations with pdfs will then be imported. Mendeley works with OpenOffice and Word to create citations in your document. See the guide http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/mendeley for more information.

CiteULike is a web-based citation management tool that allows you to share your citations at different levels of privacy. You can associate full-text articles with your citations thus always having your library available to you when you use different computers. Compatible with Zotero and Endnote. CiteULike also works with Word and OpenOffice.

Exporting References and Importing Them into Mendeley

Steps to export references from SciFinder Scholar and import them into Mendeley:

  1. Click the check box(es) next to the references that you want to add to Mendeley.
  2. Click on Export (on the right side of the the gray header the search results).

    Select SciFinder citation, Click Export



  3. Three columns appear in the Export manager window:
    1. Under Export, select what to export. Use "Selected" if you have checked off any references in the answer set.
    2. Under For: Citation Manager select Citation export format (*.ris)
    3. Under Detail, accept the default name or rename it if you prefer.
  4. Click on Export
     
    Export Manager window

  5. Select Save File (if using FireFox browser, see image below) or Save (if using IE).
  6. Click on OK.

    Opening Reference window

  7. Open Mendeley Desktop on your comuter.
  8. Select Add Files... from the File pull down menu.

    Add Files to Mendeley