University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

EndNote Basic: Collect References

Using Endnote Basic, a free resource, to manage your citations

Adding References Manually

This is the most labor-intensive way to enter references into EndNote Basic, and it is the most prone to errors. Avoid using it if possible.

Screenshot adding references manually

  1. From the Collect Tab, click the New Reference link. 
  2. Change the Reference Type by selecting the appropriate type from the Reference Type drop-down list. The page will redisplay with the appropriate fields for that reference type.
  3. Enter the bibliographic data in each of the fields in the reference. Reference fields most commonly required for a properly formatted citation and bibliography are in the Bibliographic fields section.
  4. Check the appropriate group for the new reference.
  5. Click the Save button.

Search Databases within EndNote Basic

Search external databases from within EndNote Basic.  For topic searches, it is  recommend searching PubMed via the PubMed website. Search options from within EndNote Basic are limited.

Screenshot of how to search external databases through Endnote Basic.

Screenshot of searching external databases through Endnote Basic.

  1. Under the Collect tab in EndNote Basic, click Online Search.
  2. Select a database from the drop-down list (U Hawaii-Manoa; PubMed; Web of Science; many university, state, national, and international libraries/databases; etc.).
  3. Click Connect.
  4. Enter your search terms and Search. Click on Retrieve.
  5. Mark the records you want to save and Add to Group.

Importing Search Results from OneSearch Manoa

  1. Run your search in OneSearch Manoa
  2. When results are displayed click on record for the required reference.
  3. At the drop down list to the right, select Send to EndNote WebScreenshot how to send references to Endnote Web/Basic
  4. Primo Imports Results - Number of records imported: # will appear.
  5. Go into the My References tab and your records will appear under unfiled.
  6. Add to Groups as required.

Adding References Manually Tutorial

This 3-minute tutorial will show you how to manually enter references into your EndNote Basic library.

Linking PDFs to References

You can attach a PDF (or other file) to a reference in EndNote Basic.

  1. In the My References Tab, click the paper clip icon at the bottom of the reference to which you would like to attach a file.
  2. Click the option for Attach a File. You can also attach figures using the icon to the right of the paperclip icon.

Screenshot of paper clip icon to save full text.