University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

FAMR 454 - Family Public Policy (Spring 2016): Finding Journal and News Articles

Library resources for course assignments

Comparing Scholarly Scientific and Trade Sources

Scholarly

Professional and Trade

Always includes author names and institutional affiliations

Names are sometimes included, but are often anonymous staff writers

Always includes citations or footnotes

Sometimes includes citations or footnotes

Reports on experiments or other original research to make the results available to the scholarly community; sometimes literature reviews

Articles for professionals in a specific industry about relevant trends and issues

Generally includes sections for introduction, materials and methods, results and discussion

Articles are generally short

Uses technical or specialized vocabulary

Written using vocabulary relevant to the specific industry or profession

Little or no advertising

Advertising that relates to the profession or industry targeted

Peer-reviewed before publication

Not reviewed by outside scholars

Newspaper Articles

Recommended Journal Article Databases

Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article

Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.

Click on the Find it link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.

If we do not have access to the article in an online format (No Full Text available), use the Hawaii Voyager link to see if we have it available in print.

If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, select Request document via Interlibrary Loan to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.

Making Your Search Work

Need help with constructing your search for journal articles?

Our LibGuide on Boolean Operators will show you how to use AND, OR, NOT and PARENTHESES to construct your search

Need More Help?

 

Sci/Tech Department Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday, 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays
All library hours

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263