University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

TPSS 475/NREM 475 - Plant Nutrient Diagnosis in the Tropics: Distance Services

Library resources for students in this online course

For UH Manoa Distance Learners

Can I access library resources and services remotely?

Yes. The resources highlighted in this LibGuide are all available remotely.

How do I register my UH ID Number to access library services?

Following class registration and payment of tuition and fees, you may obtain your UH ID. However, an ID card is not necessary to register for library services. See the ID Registration page for more information.

How do I find and obtain books?

Search for books, videos, and other materials available in UH libraries using Hawaii Voyager. If you find a book in the Hawai'i Voyager that you need and it is only available in print, you may request that it be sent to you. Use the Get This Item link in the upper right side of the item record to make this request. Be sure to include your mailing address and allow adequate time for it to arrive through US Postal Service. This service is for Manoa distance education students only, and is free of charge.

You may search for books that are not available in UH libraries by using the list of resources in the “More Book Finding Tools” box on the Getting Started tab of this guide. If a print book that you need is only available at a non-UH library, you may request that it be sent to you via Interlibrary Loan. (Sorry, most e-books cannot currently be loaned to other libraries.) Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library

If you use WorldCat to search for books, you can submit your interlibrary loan request from your search results. In the display of the book citation, select the link See more details for locating this item. On the next page, select the link Request via ILL. Indicate that you are a Manoa distance education student in the notes field of the form.

How do I find and get access to journal articles?

You can search for journal articles on particular subject using OneSearch Manoa or one of the journal article databases highlighted in this guide. You must have a registered ID to access these databases. Additional journal article databases are available through the UH Manoa Library’s Online Databases and Indexes page.

The entire article may be available electronically for you to read, print, or email directly from the journal article database. If not, Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available. Click on the Find it link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.

If we do not have access to the article in an online format (No Full Text available), select the option to search Hawaii Voyager to see if we have the journal available in print. If you find a record for the print version of the journal, display the full record for the item and click the Get This Item button on the right side menu. Log in and then select UH Manoa IntraSystem Article Request from the menu. Be sure to indicate that you are a distance student and include your email and snail mail addresses.

If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, select Request document via Interlibrary Loan to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.

How long does it take to fill an interlibrary loan request?

Delivery time depends on the availability of the material and the delivery method used by the providing library. Air mail delivery for books and electronic transmission for articles is always specified, but the providing library does not always honor this request.

UH libraries deliver books via air mail or campus mail, so IntraSystem Loan book or article requests arrive in 7 to 10 days. If a  mainland libraries uses air mail to ship your book, the delivery time is usually 1-3 weeks. However, books mailed Library Rate from the mainland may take 4 to 6 weeks. Electronic transmission of articles can arrive as soon as 1 to 2 days. Mailed photocopies usually take 1 to 2 weeks.

Can I have materials sent to me?

UHM Library can deliver books found in Hawaii Voyager to other UH System Libraries via the Hold or Transfer Item Service. Use the Get This Item link in the upper right side of the item record to make this request​. Be sure to select the UH Library that you wish the item to be transferred to and held for pickup. ​

​If you need a book only available at a non-UH library, you may request that it be sent to the UH System Library closest to you via Interlibrary Loan
 
If you want a journal article that is not available through the Library in electronic format, you can request that an electronic copy be sent to the UH System Library closest to you either via IntraSystem Article Request (for print items in a UH library), or Interlibrary Loan (for items from a non-UH library).

What does the service cost?

All books loans and filled article requests are free. However, you are responsible for any fines for books checked out to you via IntraSystem Loan.

 

Important links

Register Your UH Identification (ID) Number
Required for online access to databases and full-text journals, book renewals and requests in the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog, and requesting articles, books, and other documents not owned by the UH Manoa Library.

Outreach Librarians for Manoa Distance Students on All Islands
A list of UH campus librarians on all islands who can provide basic assistance and help you obtain a student identification card.

Interlibary Loan Service
Free service for obtaining articles and books from other libraries.

Need More Help?

E-mail Sci/Tech: sciref@hawaii.edu

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Hours:
Monday-Friday 9 am-4 pm
Closed holidays

Sci/Tech Reference Desk Phone:
(808) 956-8263