APA is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides leadership in the development of vital communities. We measure our success by the successes of our members and the communities they serve. The American Planning Association was created in 1978 by the consolidation of two separate planning organizations, but its roots grow all the way back to 1909 and the first National Conference on City Planning in Washington, D.C.
An Internet clearing house for information about websites, publications, essays and news related to land use planning, growth management, comprehensive planning, smart growth, new urbanism, and much more.
Founded in 1912, the American Association of Port Authorities is a trade association which represents more than 160 public port authorities in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Latin America.
APTA serves, leads, strengthens, and improves public transportation through advocacy, innovation and information sharing. APTA works to ensure that public transportation is available and accessible for all Americans in communities across the country. APTA provides studies and statistics on all aspects of public transportation.
A consortium of university-based programs offering credentials in urban and regional planning. Acting together, the ACSP member school faculty are able to express their shared commitments to understanding the dynamics of urban and regional development, enhancing planning practices, and improving the education of both novice and experienced planners.
The only professional membership organization for the discipline of pedestrian and bicycle transportation. Dedicated to making bicycling and walking a viable transportation option in the United States, Canada, and around the world. The association also welcomes academics, students and professional advocates.
The Community Development Society provides leadership to professionals and citizens across the spectrum of community development. Members have multiple opportunities to learn what's new in the profession, to exchange ideas, to obtain the most current research and reference information available and to share professional expertise.
An international, interdisciplinary organization founded in 1968 by design professionals, social scientists, students, educators, and facility managers. The purpose of edra is the advancement and dissemination of environmental design research, thereby improving understanding of the interrelationships between people, their built and natural surroundings, and helping to create environments responsive to human needs.
Professional and educational organization for chief appointed managers, administrators, and assistants in cities, towns, counties, and regional entities throughout the world. An internationally recognized publisher of information resources ranging from textbooks and survey data to topic-specific newsletters and e-publications. ICMA provides technical assistance to local governments in emerging democracies, helping them to develop professional practices and ethical, transparent governments.
With approximately 9500 members throughout the world, ICOMOS works for the conservation and protection of cultural heritage places. It is the only global non-government organization of this kind, which is dedicated to promoting the application of theory, methodology, and scientific techniques to the conservation of the architectural and archaeological heritage.
The International Downtown Association is a world leader and champion for vital and livable urban centers. It has more than 650 member organizations worldwide, including North America, Europe, Asia and Africa.
NCDA is comprised of more than 550 local governments across the country that administer federally-supported community and economic development, housing and human service programs, including programs of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), and the HOME Investment Partnerships (HOME) programs.
The National Civic League (NCL) is America's original advocate for community democracy. It is an over one-hundred-year-old non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to strengthening citizen democracy by transforming democratic institutions.
The oldest and largest national organization representing municipal governments throughout the United States. Its mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance.
A public-interest information exchange provided by Urban Insight for the urban planning, design, and development community. It is a one-stop source for urban planning news, commentary, interviews, event coverage, book reviews, announcements, jobs, consultant listings, training, and more. Covers a wide number of planning, design, and development issues, from transportation to global warming, architecture to infrastructure, housing and community development to historic preservation.
Planners Network is an association of progressive planning. Our members are professionals, activists, academics, and students involved in physical, social, economic, and environmental planning in urban and rural areas. PN serves as a voice for social, economic, and environmental justice through planning.
Project for Public Spaces (PPS) is a nonprofit planning, design and educational organization dedicated to helping people create and sustain public spaces that build stronger communities. PPS helps citizens transform their public spaces into vital places that highlight local assets, spur rejuvenation and serve common needs.
The core of the site is a searchable database with more than 1,000 reviewed links to architecture, planning and landscape websites from around the world. These reviews are organized into thirteen themed Gateways - Architecture, Construction, Culture, Heritage, Housing, Interior Design, Landscape, Planning, Regeneration, Sustainability, Transport, Urban Design and Other Information Resources.
A coalition of national, state and local organizations working to improve the ways we plan and build towns, cities and metropolitan areas--one that protects farmland and open space, revitalizes neighborhoods, keeps housing affordable, and provides more transportation choices.
An organization that creates a range of housing opportunities and walkable neighborhoods; encourages community collaboration; fosters attractive communities with a strong sense of place; makes development decisions predictable; cost effective; mixed land uses; preserves open space, farmland, natural beauty and critical environmental areas; provides a variety of transportation choices; strengthens and directs development towards existing communities; takes advantage of compact building design.
An international professional organization for urban scholars, researchers, and public service providers. It is dedicated to creating interdisciplinary spaces for engaging in intellectual and practical discussions about urban life
A non-profit association of professionals using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and other information technologies to solve challenges in state and local government agencies and departments. URISA is considered to be the premier organization for the use and integration of spatial information technology to improve the quality of life in urban and regional environments.
Founded in 1936, the ULI represents a wide spectrum of land use and real estate development disciplines, working in private enterprise and public service. ULI facilitates the exchange of ideas, information and experience among local, national and international industry leaders and policy makers dedicated to creating better places. Its mission is to provide leadership in the responsible use of land and in creating and sustaining thriving communities worldwide.