An electronic system for access and dissemination of Census Bureau data on the internet. The system offers prepackaged data products and user-selected data tables and maps from Census 2000, the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses, the Population Estimates Program, annual economic surveys and the American Community Survey. The system was formerly known as the Data Access and Dissemination System (DADS)
Comprehensive data on large urban area population density as well as data from the censuses of France, Japan, Italy, the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States and other nations. The site also specializes in urban development, urban land use policies, and the "New Urbanism," with data and analysis generally critical of so-called "smart growth." Provides comprehensive information from all over the world on topics related to the built environment.
A geographic information system (GIS) portal that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data from federal, state, and local governments. The portal contains thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.
NHGIS includes state and county statistical data from 1790-2000; census tract statistical data from 1910-2000; historic state and county boundary files (1790-2000) and census tract boundary files (1910-2000); all summary data (at all summary levels, including census blocks) from 1970-2000; and, County Business Patterns data from 1970-2000.
A state-by-state compendium of home sales data and metropolitan area home prices published on a quarterly basis. Produced by the National Association of Realtors, the site also includes housing statistics, economic indicators and forecasts, reports by topic, economists' outlook.
A database of economic statistics that helps the FDIC evaluate the risks facing financial institutions. It includes: Industry Activity, Employment and Income, Real Estate Activity, Selected U.S. Commodity Prices, and County Location Maps. RECON contains a 'shopping cart' feature that allows the user to assemble charts and tables of interest and then print them together at the end of their session. Economic data is arranged by geography.
Produced by HUD, the system provides information on cities from various federal agencies and produces useful municipal data sets including, fair market rents, income limits, metropolitan American housing survey data, Section 8 administrative fees, etc. The Quick Link option enables you to find datasets by city.
Data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. The database allows you to examine state and county topics for individual census years from 1790 through 1960.