Okinawan Studies: Newspapers/Magazines

• Yomidas Rekishikan / ヨミダス歴史館

Search or browse through more than 10 million articles carried by the newspaper since its inaugural issue in 1874. Searchable texts of the articles after 1986 to present. Also includes the Daily Yomiuri (English), and Biographical database includes 26,000 contemporary persons in many fields who are linked to related news articles. (UH ID and password required) You can search keywords such as "沖縄返還" in Yomidas Rekishikan, and see how one of the newspapers in mainland Japan, Yomiuri Shimbun, reported the event.

National Diet Library of Japan has detailed instruction on how to use Yomidas Rekishikan (Japanese only). [Accessed April 4, 2019, HST]

https://rnavi.ndl.go.jp/research_guide/entry/post-1088.php

IMPORTANT: As of December 2018, PRE-WWII newspaper databases are unavailable. We will notify when the technical issues are solved.

Database

• Ryukyu Shimpo / 琉球新報  (JPN version)
  • 1898-1918 and 1938-1940 are available on PC#3 at the Asia Collection Reading Room on the 4th floor of Hamilton Library (software is already installed)
  • Vol. 1 (1898-1903),  vol. 2 (1904-1908),  vol. 3 (1909-1913), and  vol. 4 (1914-1918)

• Okinawa Nippo / 沖縄日報 covered from 1936 to 1940 (DVD version)
• Okinawa Mainichi Shinbun / 沖縄毎日新聞 covering from 1909-1914 (DVD version)
• Ryukyu Shinpo / 琉球新報 covering from 1898-1912

Online Database/Microfilm/DVD-R

•   Okinawa Times (UHM Use Only) (JPN version)
  • Full-text articles covered from 1997 to present can be accessed.  After getting on their database page through the UHM Library website, click"ログイン画面（ＩＰ特定用）.
  • "UHM Hamilton Library holds no.1(1948:June)-no.281(1977:Dec.)and no.489(1992:Jan.)-no.603(1996:Dec.) as a microfilm
  • (1978:Jan)-no.488(1991:Dec) are available at  the University of Chicago Library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

•     Ryukyu Shinpo (UHM Use Only) (JPN version)
  • Full-text articles covered from 1998 to present can be accessed.
  • UHM Hamilton Library holds 1945:Aug.12-1951:July 27 and 1951:Sept.10-2002:Mar.31 as a microfilm.
  • The Asia Reference Desk holds 2001:May1-2007: Dec. 31 as a DVD-R.

Printed Comilations

• Senryōki Ryūkyū shotō shinbun shūsei 占領期・琉球諸島新聞集成 During the occupation periods. 16 volume compilation

Printed Index

• Shinbun Kiji Sakuin / 新聞記事索引   (JPN version)
  This is an index of Okinawa Times and Ryukyushimpo covered their articles from 1950-1970.
• Shokubutsu hyohon yori erareta kindai Okinawa no shinbun 植物標本より得られた近代沖縄の新聞

• Okinawa Magazines Database / 沖縄県雑誌データベース (JPN version)

Reading Room:

Open

Contact Us:

Reference Hours: M-F: 10am - 2pm

Email: asiaref@hawaii.edu 

Phone: (808) 956-8116

Ask Us: 

https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/help/ask-us/

  

Newspapers.com

[https://www.newspapers.com/ ; last accessed on August 31, 2018]

• The largest online newspaper archive
• 8,800+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s
• Millions of additional pages added every month