University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Japan Studies: E-Resources and ILL/DD hints: Finding Journal Articles

This guides focuses on electronic resources relevant to Japanese studies and how to use Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services.

Online Newspapers on Japan at UHM

For more information about the UHM Newspaper collections @ Japan Studies Newspapers

Asahi Shinbun 朝日新聞KikuzoII (聞蔵II)
Covers from 1879 to present

The Japan News (Daily Yomiuri)
full text via Nexis Uni and via Yomidas Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) Select Daily Yomiuri after log-in
Covers Sep.1,1989-present

Japan Times
full text via Nexis Uni
Covers Jan 1, 1998-present

Nihon Keizai (Nikkei) Shinbun 日本経済新聞 Nikkei Telecom21 (日本経済新聞社4紙Onlineフルテキスト及び経済人人物情報)
Searchable from 1974.April-present
Full texts from 1981.Oct.-present

Nikkei Weekly
full text via Nexis Uni
Covers Apr 8, 1966-present

Okinawa Times Database (沖縄タイムスデータベース)
Covers 1997 to present

Ryukyu Shinpo Database (琉球新報データベース)
Covers 1998 to present

Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞 Yomidas Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館)
Covers 1874 (Nov.2)-present

How to find articles in Japanese journals

Online Indexes for Japanese journals
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Database UHM Only By Koseisa 皓星社雑誌記事索引集成データベース
Japanese periodical and magazine index from the Meiji to the present. Can cross search in CiNii, NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (see below)

CiNii : Citation Information by NII NII 論文情報ナビゲータ
Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要)are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin 雑誌記事索引 (National Diet Library)
Journal indexes from 1948 to present developed by the National Diet Library.

Nichigai Web Services : MAGAZINEPLUS UHM Only  日外ウェブサービスマガジンプラス
Japanese journal/magazine index. List of journals indexed in the database.

Databases including full-text Japanese magazines/journal articles
Asahi Shinbun Kikuzo II: 朝日新聞聞蔵II UHM Only
In additon to full-texts of the Asahi Newspaper from 1879 to present, includes Aera アエラ (monthly magazine), Shukan Asahi 週刊朝日 from 1984 to present. Also it includes Chiezo 知恵蔵 current issue.

CiNii : Citation Information by NII NII 論文情報ナビゲータ
Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要)are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.

JAIRO  (Japanese/English)
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online. It enables you to search all the institutional repositories sites in Japan. A lot of scholarly articles.

JapanKnowledge+ UHM Only ジャパンナレッジプラス
Includes Kaisha Shikiho 会社四季報 (latest 2 years), Shukan Ekonomisuto 週刊エコノミスト, and more.

J-STAGE : Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic journals.
科学技術情報発信・流通総合システム ( Japanese / English )

Senryoki shinbun zasshi joho database 占領期雑誌記事情報データベース NDL site
占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース The Institute of 20th Century site
Prange Collection University of Maryland. Title level search via the National Diet Library. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949.

Other helpful sites
NDL's WARP(Web Archiving) Project Search site for online Japanese journals and web pages

CiNii : Academic Society Journals and Research Bulletins List

Nihon no Bijutsu 日本の美術
Translation of titles of each issue created by Ohio State University