University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Japan Studies: Getting the Most of NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (Zassaku) NDL雑誌記事索引: Searching

This guide provides general information and search tips to maximize the NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (NDL journal index).

In this guide...

You will find the following pages:

About: What is the NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Database NDL雑誌記事索引データベース?

Searching: How to search the NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Database

Search Tips: Detailed information on codes, limited search, etc.

Boolean Operators page helps you understand how the Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) works. Outside Link

Quick Links

Hawaii Voyager Online Catalog
Image of a voyager logo
 
 One Search Manoa 
Image of one search manoa

Japan Studies LibGuides
Logo of Lib Guides
 
Okinawa Collection (Blog) 
Okinawa Collection Blog

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
:
As of July 12, 2017 (HST), the site is under construction (unavailable).
New site will be announced soon.
 
Okinawa Special Collection

 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies
Center for Okinawan Studies

UHM Center for Japan Studies

Center for Japanese Studies

Simple Search & Display

1. Access to the Database https://ndlopac.ndl.go.jp/

2. Login with your ID & Password or Login as a guest if you have not registered yet.

3. In the Simple Search screen, click on the "Article" tab.

4. Search ハワイ in the article title box.

5. Multiple words in a box are interpreted as "AND" Search. Example: search terms ハワイ 観光 look for articles contain both ハワイ AND 観光

  • After your search, make sure to check the UHM Library Voyager whether the titles are held in the UHM Library. IF not,
  • Request via the UHM Library Document Delivery service by filling out the UHM Library ILL/DD Form

ndl article 3

Using Codes/Classifications

In additions to limiting your search to journals held by specific locations, publication year, volumes, and article text language, provided in the right column, you can use specific codes and/or classifications to narrow your search. For more information about the codes and classifications, click "Search Tips" tab.

1. After your search, make sure to check the UHM Library Voyager whether the journals are held in the UHM Library. IF not,

2. Request via the UHM Library Document Delivery service by filling out the UHM Library ILL/DD Form

Limit "Publisher/Editor"
1. Input ハワイ as a search term in the article title box 
2. Limit to journal published by universities by inputting 大学 in the Publisher/Editor box. You will get articles by Japanese universities.

ndl article 4

Limit to a specific publisher by using "Agency Code"
1. Input ハワイ as a search term in the article title box 
2. Limit to journal published by Doshisha universities by inputting its Agency Code 2195 in the Agency Code box.

ndl article 5

Limit to a specific article classification.
1. Input ハワイ as a search term in the article title box 
2. Limit to book reviews 書評 by inputting 書評 in the "Classification of Articles" box.

ndl article 6

Limit to a specific article classification.
1. Input ハワイ as a search term in the article title box 
2. Limit to academic association/society reports by inputting 学会報告 in the "Classification of Articles" box.  

ndl article 7