Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Studies: Getting the Most of CiNii Articles NII論文情報ナビゲータ: Search Tips

This guide provides information and search tips for the NII CiNii Article database

In this guide...

You will find the following pages:

About: What is the CiNii Article Database NII 論文情報ナビゲータ?

Searching: How to search the NII CiNii Articles Database: Simple Search & Advance Search

Search Tips: Keyword combinations and Boolean operators within the CiNii Articles Database

Boolean Operators page helps you understand how the Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) works. Outside Link

Quick Links

OneSearch Mānoa 
Image of one search manoa

Japan Studies LibGuides
Logo of Lib Guides
 
Okinawa Collection (Blog) 
Okinawa Collection Blog

UHM Library Okinawa Collection
:
As of July 12, 2017 (HST), the site is under construction (unavailable).
New site will be announced soon.
 
Okinawa Special Collection
 
UHM Center for Japan Studies (CJS)
Center for Japanese Studies at UH logo
 
UHM Center for Okinawan Studies (COS)
Center for Okinawan Studies
 
COS Newsletter (Spring 2018, Vol. 1) (PDF)
COS Newsletter (Summer 2018, Vol. 2) (PDF)

Combination of Keywords

Keywords separated by space(s)
Spaces are treated as "AND"  ハワイ 観光 in the title search box searches ハワイ AND 観光  

Phrase search
Input a phrase without any spaces. Example: ハワイ観光 returns only articles containing an exact phrase.

Phrase search for English language articles
Enclose a phrase in double quotations (" "). Example: "information processing" returns articles containing "computer information processing" "information processing society" etc. but NOT "processing and information" or "information on processing" 

Exact phrase search
Enclose a phrase in slashes (/ /). Example:  /バゼル山本/ in the author box returns records containing only 「バゼル山本」but NOT records containing 「バゼル 山本」

Truncations
Use an asterisk (*) to search truncated English words.  Example: "work*" will return "work" "worker" and "working" but NOT "homework."

Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT)

You can use the Boolean operators in the CiNii Articles Database as follows:

AND
Use space(s) or a symbol "&"  Examples: ハワイ 観光 (space in between the words) or ハワイ&観光 returns records containing both ハワイ and 観光

OR
Use a word OR between search words or a symbol "|" between search words.  Example: ハワイ OR オアフ returns records containing ハワイ or オアフ

NOT
 use a word NOT between search words.  Example: ハワイ NOT 観光 returnds records containing ハワイ but excludes records containing 観光

Using Prentheses
You can prioritize Boolean search terms by using parentheses. Examples:  A NOT (B & C) returns records containing A but not records containing B and C.  (A NOT B) & C retuns records containing A and C but not records containing B.