Exhibits
Location: Asia Collection
The Center for Southeast Asian Studies, the Ethnomusicology Program in the Music Department, and the Hamilton Library Asia Collection present an exhibit entitled, “Sounding the... View "Sounding the Earth: Bamboo, Metal & Wood Instruments in Southeast Asia" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
To welcome and celebrate his 100th birthday this past April, the Center for Japanese Studies (CJS) and Asia Collection showcases the life and contributions of... View "Urasenke Chado Tradition University of Hawai'i" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
In collaboration with the Center for Japanese Studies (CJS), Asia Collection features our long and rich history of Japan Studies, introducing dignitary Japan & Okinawan... View "100+ Years of the Study of Japan University of Hawai'i" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
This exhibit showcases the library’s collection of the creative, scholarly and critical works of two keynote speakers – renowned author Amitav Ghosh and architect Kazi... View "Showcasing the Writing of Amitav Ghosh and Kazi Khaleed Ashraf" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
Contemporary Korean society can be described as "in rapid transformation." Generation after generation, young adults in Korea have experienced different phases of economic development and... View "Portraits of Young Adults in Korea" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
The Okinawan Concerto exhibit links the past Okinawan culture with the present through the rhythm of the music. It’s a special collaboration of the Edo... View "Okinawan Concerto" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
To commemorate 100 years of Chinese studies at the University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa, this online exhibit focuses on the first fifty years (1920-1970), highlighting the... View "China100 @ UH Mānoa" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
The Association for Asian Studies is holding their annual conference in Honolulu from March 24-27, 2022. In anticipation of visitors, starting from Friday, March... View "Very Selected Publications By University of Hawaiʻi Faculty In Asian Studies" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
With the current focus on Afghanistan in the media and in the US Congress providing a backdrop to the complexities of the country, this exhibit aims... View "Afghanistan: “Graveyard” of Empires" Exhibit
Location: Asia Collection
This online exhibit presents the creative and visual arts of North Korea (and Korea as a whole). It highlights selected artworks as well as North Korea’s... View "Arts of North Korea" Exhibit
