UHM Library's Maps, Aerial Photographs, GIS unit. Online content includes Hawaiʻi topographic quadrangles, Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Hawaiʻi; aerial photographs of much of Oʻahu and parts of other Hawaiʻi islands; and links to other online content. Strengths in MAGIS's physical collections and in-house services include maps from Hawaii, the Pacific region and Asia; and GIS services.
Licensed for UH Manoa use only. Digital access to fire insurance maps from various areas in Hawaii. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. (ProQuest)
Indexes resources in these categories: Genealogy Indexes Historic Sites Databases Māhele ʻĀina Index Maps Multimedia Newspapers Periodicals / Reports Place Names Uncategorized Some of the resources are available online; some are not.
AVA = "Ancestral Visions of ʻĀina" This site offers digitized documents and maps relating to Hawaiʻi's lands, focusing on "documents that were written and produced in the 1840s and 1850s, when lands in Hawaiʻi first went into private ownership. These land records, written by our ancestors, include detailed descriptions of land management practices."
The Hawaiian Collection does not have a large photo collection. To find images to use in your presentation, check these sites listed below.
Access to sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music digitized by the Library of Congress. Use the "Search all collections" box (top right) to search everything at once. Use the "Browse" button (top left) to get to more options, including an option to browse collections containing only Maps or Photos and Prints.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.